THE GHOST ROAD, by Charis Cotter, Tundra/PenguinRandomHouse


37569920

Ghosts, a family curse, buried secrets — and two girls who have to figure it all out. A new book from an acclaimed author, for fans of Coraline, Doll Bones and The Night Gardener.

For the first time, Ruth is heading to Newfoundland to stay with family she’s never met instead of spending the summer traveling with her dad. When she arrives, she finds Newfoundland is very different from her life in Toronto–people there are much more friendly, but also superstitious, believing in ghosts and The Sight and family curses. Ruth’s cousin Ruby is also staying for the summer, and the two discover they have a lot in common: they both lost their moms when they were two years old, they’re the same age and they even like the same food. But while Ruby believes in spirits and fairies, Ruth believes in science and cold, hard facts.

When they find ominous information on some tombstones in the local cemetery, Ruth and Ruby start investigating their family’s past and discover that twin girls are born in every generation, and every set of twins dies young, leaving their children without mothers. What’s more, one of the twins always has The Sight and can see the Ghost Road that leads to the mysterious lost settlement of Slippers Cove. What happened there? What does it have to do with their family? And who is the ghostly presence that keeps visiting Ruth late at night?

The answers lie somewhere along the Ghost Road . . . if they can only find it.

Out September, 2018

MY THOUGHTS:

I received this book in exchange for my honest review.

I am such a HUGE Charis Cotter fan! I’ve read everything she’s written. The fact that she’s a Canadian author who centers her work around Newfoundland is a hidden bonus! My mother is from Newfoundland and I’ve been and loved it! My extended family is from there too!

If you want to see what else she’s written go here: http://www.chariscotter.ca/

She wrote: The Painting and The Swallow too

You’ll discover a mystery surrounding twins and enjoy the atmospheric feel to the story. Cotter has a voice that transitions well from one plot point to another in such a way that both middle-graders and adults alike will enjoy reading her story.  There are lots of plot twists and turns and fun to be had and a spookiness that will keep you turning pages! I finished it in one sitting, then re-read it again just for fun!

I love this book! Another Cotter sensation!

I gave it:

5-star

 

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.