DARING DARLEEN: QUEEN OF THE SCREEN, by Anne Nesbet, Candlewick Press

When a publicity stunt goes terribly wrong, twelve-year-old Darleen Darling, star of the silent film era, must defeat villains both on screen and off in this edge-of-your-seat adventure. Lights! Camera! Kidnapping?It's 1914, and Darleen Darling's film adventures collide with reality when a fake kidnapping set up by her studio becomes all too real. Suddenly Darleen finds … Continue reading DARING DARLEEN: QUEEN OF THE SCREEN, by Anne Nesbet, Candlewick Press

GROWING SEASON, by Maryann Cocca-Leffler, Sterling Children’s Books

El and Jo are the shortest kids in class, and they’re inseparable. But what happens when Jo starts to grow? This sweet picture book explores the joys and challenges of friendship and growing up. “A sweet story with emotional depth.” —Kirkus El and Jo are the smallest students in their class—and best friends, too, like … Continue reading GROWING SEASON, by Maryann Cocca-Leffler, Sterling Children’s Books

FATTY LEGS: A TRUE STORY, by Christy Jordan-Fenton & Margaret Pokiak-Fenton, Illustrated by Liz Amini-Holmes, Annick Press

The moving memoir of an Inuit girl who emerges from a residential school with her spirit intact. Eight-year-old Margaret Pokiak has set her sights on learning to read, even though it means leaving her village in the high Arctic. Faced with unceasing pressure, her father finally agrees to let her make the five-day journey to … Continue reading FATTY LEGS: A TRUE STORY, by Christy Jordan-Fenton & Margaret Pokiak-Fenton, Illustrated by Liz Amini-Holmes, Annick Press

STARDUST, by Jeanne Willis, Illustrated by Briony May Smith, Nosy Crow, Candlewick Books

One little girl dreams of being a star. But whether it's finding Mum's lost wedding ring or winning the fancy-dress prize, her big sister always shines brighter. Yet for her grandad she is a star and, as he dries her eyes and they both gaze up at the night sky, he tells a story, the … Continue reading STARDUST, by Jeanne Willis, Illustrated by Briony May Smith, Nosy Crow, Candlewick Books

GIRLS OF PAPER AND FIRE, by Natasha Ngan, Hachette Book Group

Each year, eight beautiful girls are chosen as Paper Girls to serve the king. It's the highest honor they could hope for...and the most cruel. But this year, there's a ninth girl. And instead of paper, she's made of fire. In this lush fantasy, Lei is a member of the Paper caste, the lowest and … Continue reading GIRLS OF PAPER AND FIRE, by Natasha Ngan, Hachette Book Group

THE GHOST ROAD, by Charis Cotter, Tundra/PenguinRandomHouse

Ghosts, a family curse, buried secrets -- and two girls who have to figure it all out. A new book from an acclaimed author, for fans of Coraline, Doll Bones and The Night Gardener. For the first time, Ruth is heading to Newfoundland to stay with family she's never met instead of spending the summer … Continue reading THE GHOST ROAD, by Charis Cotter, Tundra/PenguinRandomHouse

THE MISCALCULATIONS OF LIGHTNING GIRL, by Stacy McAnulty/ Random House

Middle school is the one problem Lucy Callahan can't solve in this middle-grade novel perfect for fans of The Fourteenth Goldfish, Rain Reign, and Counting by 7s. Lucy Callahan was struck by lightning. She doesn't remember it, but it changed her life forever. The zap gave her genius-level math skills, and ever since, Lucy has … Continue reading THE MISCALCULATIONS OF LIGHTNING GIRL, by Stacy McAnulty/ Random House

EVERY SHINY THING, by Cordelia Jensen and Laurie Morrison, Amulet Books/Abrams Book/Abramskids

In this beautifully constructed middle-grade novel, told half in prose and half in verse, Lauren prides herself on being a good sister, and Sierra is used to taking care of her mom. When Lauren’s parents send her brother to a therapeutic boarding school for teens on the autism spectrum and Sierra moves to a foster … Continue reading EVERY SHINY THING, by Cordelia Jensen and Laurie Morrison, Amulet Books/Abrams Book/Abramskids

THE BREADWINNER, by Deborah Ellis, Groundwood Books/House of Anansi Press

Since the Taliban took over Afghanistan, 11-year-old Parvana has rarely been outdoors. Barred from attending school, shopping at the market, or even playing in the streets of Kabul, the heroine of Deborah Ellis's engrossing children's novel The Breadwinner is trapped inside her family's one-room home. That is, until the Taliban hauls away her father and … Continue reading THE BREADWINNER, by Deborah Ellis, Groundwood Books/House of Anansi Press