APPARITION, by Gail Gallant, Doubleday Canada, Random House Canada

The last time seventeen-year-old Amelia Mackenzie saw her best friend Matthew alive, he broke her heart. When he is found the next day in an abandoned barn at the edge of town, an apparent suicide, Amelia's whole world comes crashing down. And then she sees him again. Because Amelia has a secret that even Matthew … Continue reading APPARITION, by Gail Gallant, Doubleday Canada, Random House Canada

INDIGENOUS WRITES, A GUIDE TO FIRST NATIONS, METIS & INUIT ISSUES IN CANADA, by Chelsea Vowel, Highwater Press

Delgamuukw. Sixties Scoop. Bill C-31. Blood quantum. Appropriation. Two-Spirit. Tsilhqot’in. Status. TRC. RCAP. FNPOA. Pass and permit. Numbered Treaties. Terra nullius. The Great Peace… Are you familiar with the terms listed above? In Indigenous Writes, Chelsea Vowel, legal scholar, teacher, and intellectual, opens an important dialogue about these (and more) concepts and the wider social … Continue reading INDIGENOUS WRITES, A GUIDE TO FIRST NATIONS, METIS & INUIT ISSUES IN CANADA, by Chelsea Vowel, Highwater Press

BETWEEN TWO SHORES, By Jocelyn Green, Bethany House, Graf-Martin

The daughter of a Mohawk mother and French father in 1759 Montreal, Catherine Duval finds it is easier to remain neutral in a world that is tearing itself apart. Content to trade with both the French and the British, Catherine is pulled into the fray against her wishes when her British ex-fiance, Samuel Crane, is … Continue reading BETWEEN TWO SHORES, By Jocelyn Green, Bethany House, Graf-Martin

MANITOWAPOW: ABORIGINAL WRITINGS FROM THE LAND OF WATER, by Niigaanwewidam James Sinclair and Warren Cariou, Editors, Forward by Beatrice Mosionier, Highwater Press

This anthology of Aboriginal writings from Manitoba takes readers back through the millennia and forward to the present day, painting a dynamic picture of a territory interconnected through words, ideas, and experiences. A rich collection of stories, poetry, nonfiction, and speeches, it features: -Historical writings, from important figures. -Vibrant literary writing by eminent Aboriginal writers. … Continue reading MANITOWAPOW: ABORIGINAL WRITINGS FROM THE LAND OF WATER, by Niigaanwewidam James Sinclair and Warren Cariou, Editors, Forward by Beatrice Mosionier, Highwater Press

WATCHER IN THE WOODS, ROCKTON SERIES, by Kelly Armstrong, Minotaur Books, Doubleday Canada, Penguin Random House

In #1 New York Times bestselling author Kelley Armstrong's latest thriller, the town of Rockton--and her fans--are in for another hair-raising adventure. The secret town of Rockton has seen some rocky times lately; understandable considering its mix of criminals and victims fleeing society for refuge within its Yukon borders. Casey Duncan, the town's only detective … Continue reading WATCHER IN THE WOODS, ROCKTON SERIES, by Kelly Armstrong, Minotaur Books, Doubleday Canada, Penguin Random House

A GIRL CALLED ECHO, RED RIVER RESISTANCE, VOL. 2, by Katherena Vermette, Scott B. Henderson, Donovan Yaciuk, Highwater Press/Portage and Main Press

Echo Desjardins is adjusting to her new home, finding friends, and learning about Métis history. She just can’t stop slipping back and forth in time. One ordinary afternoon in class, Echo finds herself transported to the banks of the Red River in the summer of 1869. All is not well in the territory as Canadian … Continue reading A GIRL CALLED ECHO, RED RIVER RESISTANCE, VOL. 2, by Katherena Vermette, Scott B. Henderson, Donovan Yaciuk, Highwater Press/Portage and Main Press

THE GHOST ROAD, by Charis Cotter, Tundra/PenguinRandomHouse

Ghosts, a family curse, buried secrets -- and two girls who have to figure it all out. A new book from an acclaimed author, for fans of Coraline, Doll Bones and The Night Gardener. For the first time, Ruth is heading to Newfoundland to stay with family she's never met instead of spending the summer … Continue reading THE GHOST ROAD, by Charis Cotter, Tundra/PenguinRandomHouse

PEOPLE AND STORIES OF CANADA TO 1867, by Michel Visser-Wikkerink and E. Leigh Syms, Portage & Main Press

Take a look at life in Canada from very early times until 1867. The history of Canada is presented in exciting stories about different people and intriguing events, including wars, betrayals, and acts of heroism. To help make history come alive, People and Stories of Canada to 1867 includes: hundreds of vibrant illustrations, pictures, and … Continue reading PEOPLE AND STORIES OF CANADA TO 1867, by Michel Visser-Wikkerink and E. Leigh Syms, Portage & Main Press

PISIM FINDS HER MISKANOW, by William Dumas, Illustrated by Leonard Paul, Highwater Press

In 1993, the remains of a young woman were discovered at Nagami Bay, South Indian Lake, Manitoba. Out of that important archeological discovery came this unique story about a week in the life of Pisim, a young Cree woman, who lived in the Mid 1600s. In the story, created by renowned storyteller William Dumas, Pisim … Continue reading PISIM FINDS HER MISKANOW, by William Dumas, Illustrated by Leonard Paul, Highwater Press