THE LOST COAST, by Amy Rose Capetta, Candlewick Press

The spellbinding tale of six queer witches forging their own paths, shrouded in the mist, magic, and secrets of the ancient California redwoods. Danny didn't know what she was looking for when she and her mother spread out a map of the United States and Danny put her finger down on Tempest, California. What she … Continue reading THE LOST COAST, by Amy Rose Capetta, Candlewick Press

Advertisements

KEEP THIS TO YOURSELF, by Tom Ryan, Albert Witman & Co.

  It's been a year since the Catalog Killer terrorized the sleepy seaside town of Camera Cove, killing four people before disappearing without a trace. Like everyone else in town, eighteen-year-old Mac Bell is trying to put that horrible summer behind him—easier said than done since Mac's best friend Connor was the murderer's final victim. … Continue reading KEEP THIS TO YOURSELF, by Tom Ryan, Albert Witman & Co.

A BOY AND HIS DOG AT THE END OF THE WORLD, by C.A. Fletcher, Orbit, Hachette Book Publishers

When a beloved family dog is stolen, her owner sets out on a life-changing journey through the ruins of our world to bring her back in this fiercely compelling tale of survival, courage, and hope. Perfect for readers of Station Eleven and The Girl With All the Gifts. My name's Griz. My childhood wasn't like … Continue reading A BOY AND HIS DOG AT THE END OF THE WORLD, by C.A. Fletcher, Orbit, Hachette Book Publishers

BATTLE ROYALE: LAST FAN STANDING, by Mathias Lavorel, Andrews McMeel Publishing

Take the Fortnite frenzy off the screen with this illustrated novel inspired by the wildly popular video game. Paul’s a normal teenager: he likes sports, junk food, and action movies—he even wants to be in one someday. But what seems like Paul’s big break, his very first acting role, quickly takes a turn for the … Continue reading BATTLE ROYALE: LAST FAN STANDING, by Mathias Lavorel, Andrews McMeel Publishing

ALL THE WAYS HOME, by Elsie Chapman, Feiwel and Friends, Macmillan

  Sometimes, home isn’t where you expect to find it. After losing his mom in a fatal car crash, Kaede Hirano–now living with a grandfather who is more stranger than family–developed anger issues and spent his last year of middle school acting out. Best-friendless and critically in danger repeating the seventh grade, Kaede is given … Continue reading ALL THE WAYS HOME, by Elsie Chapman, Feiwel and Friends, Macmillan

BAD ORDER, by B.B. Ullman, Sterling Children’s Book

A middle grade story about a sister and her special little brother fighting to save the world from an interdimensional catastrophe. Mary Day’s life has always been different, because her little brother, Albie, is different. He doesn’t speak, but he can communicate with Mary via mental telepathy, sending her—and her alone—“mind memos.” To Albie, Mary … Continue reading BAD ORDER, by B.B. Ullman, Sterling Children’s Book

MY LIFE IN SMILEY: SAVE ME! By Anne Kalicky, Andrews McMeel Universal

Max is off to summer camp and ready to fill his journal with hilarious middle-school wisdom in this third installment of the My Life in Smiley series that is illustrated with the internationally recognized emoticons of the SmileyWorld brand. Age Level: 8-12 Grade Level: 3rd and up Max is in trouble, SOS trouble, he's a … Continue reading MY LIFE IN SMILEY: SAVE ME! By Anne Kalicky, Andrews McMeel Universal

DESTINATION MOON: THE REMARKABLE AND IMPROBABLE VOYAGE OF APOLLO 11, by Richard Maurer, Roaring Brook Press

The history of NASA's Apollo program from Earth orbital missions to lunar landings in a propulsive nonfiction narrative. Only now, it is becoming clear how exceptional and unrepeatable Apollo was. At its height, it employed almost half a million people, many working seven days a week and each determined that “it will not fail because … Continue reading DESTINATION MOON: THE REMARKABLE AND IMPROBABLE VOYAGE OF APOLLO 11, by Richard Maurer, Roaring Brook Press

LITTLE LUNCH: TRIPLE TREATS, by Danny Katz and Mitch Vane, Candlewick Press (On TV Now!)

Three bite-size stories kick off a series based on a popular TV show about all the fun (and maybe a little trouble) that happens at snack time. Little Lunch -- aka snack time -- is only fifteen minutes long, but it's always full of surprises. In this trio of tales, Rory forgets his snack and … Continue reading LITTLE LUNCH: TRIPLE TREATS, by Danny Katz and Mitch Vane, Candlewick Press (On TV Now!)

THE MIGRATION, by Helen Marshall, Random House Canada

Creepy and atmospheric, evocative of Stephen King's classic Pet Sematary , The Migration is a story of sisterhood, transformation, and the limitations of love, from a thrilling new voice in Canadian fiction. When I was younger I didn't know a thing about death. I thought it meant stillness, a body gone limp. A marionette with … Continue reading THE MIGRATION, by Helen Marshall, Random House Canada