RIFT, by Rachael Craw, Candlewick Publishing

For generations, the Rangers of Black Water Island have guarded the Old Herd against horrors released by the Rift. Cal West, an apprentice Ranger with a rare scar and even rarer gifts, fights daily to prove he belongs within their ranks. After nine years away, Meg Archer returns to her childhood home only to find … Continue reading RIFT, by Rachael Craw, Candlewick Publishing

LIMELIGHT, by Solli Raphael, Andrews McMeel Publishing

Age is no barrier to creating poetry that inspires social change and positive action. Thirteen-year-old award-winning slam poet Solli Raphael is taking on the world … one word at a time. The future needs you and me to create equality across all levels of humanity ~ Solli Limelight is a unique collection of slam poetry … Continue reading LIMELIGHT, by Solli Raphael, Andrews McMeel Publishing

CREATURE CAMPERS: THE SECRET OF SHADOW LAKE, EPIC! ORIGINALS, by Joe McGee, Illustrated by Bea Tormo, Andrews McMeel Publishing

Being the new kid at camp is never easy, especially for a bigfoot, a hyperactive jackalope, a fairy who can barely fly, and the only human boy! A series about the unlikely friendships forged at Camp Moonlight—“where being different isn’t unusual…it’s FUNusual!” Norm is worried about fitting in at camp. Literally. He’s not just tall … Continue reading CREATURE CAMPERS: THE SECRET OF SHADOW LAKE, EPIC! ORIGINALS, by Joe McGee, Illustrated by Bea Tormo, Andrews McMeel Publishing

GET OUT OF BED YOU SCURVY DOG! by Jeanette Maska, Independent

A wacky twelve-year old, Thomas Delaney is struggling to survive middle school. Bedridden with a high fever, he begins to read Treasure Island and is drawn into a wild seafaring adventure. Reality collides with Imagination and chaos ensues. Out August 2019 148 Pages Apprx. MY THOUGHTS: I received this book in exchange for my honest … Continue reading GET OUT OF BED YOU SCURVY DOG! by Jeanette Maska, Independent

BLACK BEAUTY, by Anna Sewell, Illustrated by Christian Birmingham, Candlewick Press

Over fifty stunning illustrations from acclaimed artist Christian Birmingham bring this treasured classic new life. When Black Beauty was born one sweet spring day, he could not have imagined the life ahead of him. Following his mother's advice to do his work with a good will, he enjoys the adventures of country and city life, … Continue reading BLACK BEAUTY, by Anna Sewell, Illustrated by Christian Birmingham, Candlewick Press

LIFE: THE FIRST FOUR BILLION YEARS: THE STORY OF LIFE FROM THE BIG BANG TO THE EVOLUTION OF HUMANS, by Martin Jenkins, Illustrated by Grahame Baker-Smith, Candlewick Press

Award-winning children's book creators Martin Jenkins and Grahame Baker-Smith team up for a large-scale look at our planet, from the big bang to the dinosaurs and beyond. Before humans took their first steps, there were billions of years of vibrant and varied life-forms on Earth. Discover the story of our planet during this time, from … Continue reading LIFE: THE FIRST FOUR BILLION YEARS: THE STORY OF LIFE FROM THE BIG BANG TO THE EVOLUTION OF HUMANS, by Martin Jenkins, Illustrated by Grahame Baker-Smith, Candlewick Press

THE EVIL LIBRARIAN SERIES, BOOKS 1-3, by Michelle Knudsen, Candlewick Press

BOOK ONE #EvilLibrarian He’s young. He’s hot. He’s also evil. He’s . . . the librarian. When Cynthia Rothschild’s best friend, Annie, falls head over heels for the new high-school librarian, Cyn can totally see why. He’s really young and super cute and thinks Annie would make an excellent library monitor. But after meeting Mr. … Continue reading THE EVIL LIBRARIAN SERIES, BOOKS 1-3, by Michelle Knudsen, Candlewick Press

JAMES RHODES PLAYLIST: THE REBELS AND REVOLUTIONARIES OF SOUND, Illustrated by Martin O’Neill,

Out October 2019 72 Pages Approx. MY THOUGHTS: I received this book in exchange for my honest review. Kids today are online at a very young age. With so much information at their supervised fingertips, there is such a wealth of learning materials for the searching. James Rhodes does a fantastic job by creating an … Continue reading JAMES RHODES PLAYLIST: THE REBELS AND REVOLUTIONARIES OF SOUND, Illustrated by Martin O’Neill,

BEST BABYSITTERS EVER: THE GOOD, THE BAD AND THE BOSSY, by Caroline Cala, HMH Kids

Being a boss isn’t all it’s cracked up to be in the second book of the Best Babysitters Ever series. Perfect for fans of Rachel Vail and Sarah Mlynowski. Just when Malia, Dot, and Bree (aka the Best Babysitters Ever) corner the Playa Del Mar babysitting market, their lives get even busier. Malia’s evil older … Continue reading BEST BABYSITTERS EVER: THE GOOD, THE BAD AND THE BOSSY, by Caroline Cala, HMH Kids

EMMY IN THE KEY OF CODE, by Aimee Lucido, Versify Books, HMHKids

In this innovative middle grade novel, coding and music take center stage as new girl Emmy tries to find her place in a new school. Perfect for fans of GIRLS WHO CODE series and THE CROSSOVER Out September 2019 416 Pages Approx. MY THOUGHTS: I received this book in exchange for my honest review. So, … Continue reading EMMY IN THE KEY OF CODE, by Aimee Lucido, Versify Books, HMHKids