THE TINDERBOX, by Beverly Lewis, Bethany House

With her Amish parents' twentieth anniversary approaching, eighteen-year-old Sylvia Miller stumbles across a surprise--the old brass tinderbox her clockmaker father keeps in his Lancaster County shop has been left unlocked. Against her better judgment, Sylvia opens the cherished heirloom, not realizing that what she is about to discover will splinter apart her happy life. Out … Continue reading THE TINDERBOX, by Beverly Lewis, Bethany House

Advertisements

ALL THE WAYS HOME, by Elsie Chapman, Feiwel and Friends, Macmillan

  Sometimes, home isn’t where you expect to find it. After losing his mom in a fatal car crash, Kaede Hirano–now living with a grandfather who is more stranger than family–developed anger issues and spent his last year of middle school acting out. Best-friendless and critically in danger repeating the seventh grade, Kaede is given … Continue reading ALL THE WAYS HOME, by Elsie Chapman, Feiwel and Friends, Macmillan

A RELUCTANT BELLE: THE DAUGHTRY HOUSE SERIES, BOOK #2, by Beth White, Revell Books

With the Civil War over, Mississippi Belle Joelle Daughtry wants to establish a school to teach freed slaves. But she might have to form an alliance with her childhood nemesis and reveal her deepest secret to make changes in her world and her heart. Out June 2019 368 Pages MY THOUGHTS: I received this book … Continue reading A RELUCTANT BELLE: THE DAUGHTRY HOUSE SERIES, BOOK #2, by Beth White, Revell Books

JUANA & LUCAS: BIG PROBLEMS, by Juana Medina, Candlewick Press

Fans of Judy Moody and Clarice Bean will love Juana, the spunky young Colombian girl who stars in this playful, abundantly illustrated new series. Juana loves many things — drawing, eating Brussels sprouts, living in Bogotá, Colombia, and especially her dog, Lucas, the best amigo ever. She does not love wearing her itchy school uniform, … Continue reading JUANA & LUCAS: BIG PROBLEMS, by Juana Medina, Candlewick Press

SOMETHING TO TELL YOU, by Lucy Diamond, Panmacmillan

When Frankie stumbles upon an unopened letter from her late mother, she’s delighted to have one last message from her . . . until she reads the contents and discovers the truth about her birth. Brimming with questions, she travels to York to seek further answers from the Mortimer family, but her appearance sends shockwaves … Continue reading SOMETHING TO TELL YOU, by Lucy Diamond, Panmacmillan

BORDER SON, by Samuel Parker, Fleming H. Revel Com., Baker Publishing Group

It's been years since Edward Kazmierski has seen his wayward son. In fact, it's been years since he has allowed thoughts of Tyler to even enter his mind. The last place he knew Tyler to be was in an El Paso jail six years ago. Then, in one day, he receives a cryptic phone call … Continue reading BORDER SON, by Samuel Parker, Fleming H. Revel Com., Baker Publishing Group

WAITING FOR CHICKEN SMITH, by David Mackintosh, Candlewick Press

A story about childhood friendships, anticipation, and the magic moments that arise while you're waiting for something else to happen. Every year a young boy stays in the same cabin at the beach with his family. And every year his friend Chicken Smith stays in the next cabin over. But this year, something's different: Chicken … Continue reading WAITING FOR CHICKEN SMITH, by David Mackintosh, Candlewick Press

BABYMOON, by Hayley Barrett, Illustrated by Juana Martinez-Neal, Candlewick Press

A newborn family spends a quiet day together. It's their babymoon—a time set apart for them to bond, to rest, and to fall in love. Illustrated by Juana Martinez-Neal. Out March 14, 2019 32 Pages approx. MY THOUGHTS: I received this book in exchange for my honest opinion. This is a book about family, love … Continue reading BABYMOON, by Hayley Barrett, Illustrated by Juana Martinez-Neal, Candlewick Press

BUILD YOUR OWN THEME PARK, by Lizz Lunney, Andrew McMeal Publishing

Get the fun going for makers of all ages with Build Your Own Theme Park with just scissors, glue, and your imagination! The first in a "Build Your Own" series of dynamic, interactive 3D activity books that combine engineering and creativity in an accessible way. Kids and adults alike will love the creativity and 3D … Continue reading BUILD YOUR OWN THEME PARK, by Lizz Lunney, Andrew McMeal Publishing

THE MIGRATION, by Helen Marshall, Random House Canada

Creepy and atmospheric, evocative of Stephen King's classic Pet Sematary , The Migration is a story of sisterhood, transformation, and the limitations of love, from a thrilling new voice in Canadian fiction. When I was younger I didn't know a thing about death. I thought it meant stillness, a body gone limp. A marionette with … Continue reading THE MIGRATION, by Helen Marshall, Random House Canada