THE PSYCHOLOGY OF TIME TRAVEL, by Kate Mascarenhas, Crooked Lane Books


41035725

Perfect for fans of Naomi Alderman’s The Power and Margot Lee Shetterly’s Hidden Figures comes The Psychology of Time Travel, a mind-bending, time-travel debut.

In 1967, four female scientists worked together to build the world’s first time machine. But just as they are about to debut their creation, one of them suffers a breakdown, putting the whole project—and future of time travel—in jeopardy. To protect their invention, one member is exiled from the team—erasing her contributions from history.

Fifty years later, time travel is a big business. Twenty-something Ruby Rebello knows her beloved grandmother, Granny Bee, was one of the pioneers, though no one will tell her more. But when Bee receives a mysterious newspaper clipping from the future reporting the murder of an unidentified woman, Ruby becomes obsessed: could it be Bee? Who would want her dead? And most importantly of all: can her murder be stopped?

Traversing the decades and told from alternating perspectives, The Psychology of Time Travel introduces a fabulous new voice in fiction and a new must-read for fans of speculative fiction and women’s fiction alike.

approx. 336 pages

Out February 12, 2019

MY THOUGHTS:

I received this book in exchange for my honest review.

I love the cover. Everything is drawn to look like it’s been embroidered on. Real different and colorful.

Time-travel invented by women. A bit ironic, don’t you think considering it’s men who always claim women keep them waiting?

This book is written by a women about female scientists in a field typically dominated by men. In fact, there’s very little male input. I found that rather interesting.

The story is a fascinating read, filled to the brim with mystery, adventure, science, murder and yup, time-traveling.  I enjoyed the author’s take on the effects of time-traveling and how dangerous it could be. Of course, I think everyone would agree that if time-travel were to be invented, it wouldn’t be little pions like me being allowed to use it, let alone know about it, so this made the story for me a bit much.

The entire story didn’t just focus on time-traveling, but also on the relationships and lives of the women responsible for inventing it.  It tests boundaries and limitations, morals and even destinies. It was fast-paced and quite the thrill ride with a very hidden dark message. This book left me with a lot of holes not filled and questions reeling. There’s an emotional tug to it and not all is science fiction.  There’s even a murder mystery.

But it is entertaining, and interesting nonetheless.

I gave it:

4_5_StarRating

 

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.