DESTINATION MOON: THE REMARKABLE AND IMPROBABLE VOYAGE OF APOLLO 11, by Richard Maurer, Roaring Brook Press

The history of NASA's Apollo program from Earth orbital missions to lunar landings in a propulsive nonfiction narrative. Only now, it is becoming clear how exceptional and unrepeatable Apollo was. At its height, it employed almost half a million people, many working seven days a week and each determined that “it will not fail because … Continue reading DESTINATION MOON: THE REMARKABLE AND IMPROBABLE VOYAGE OF APOLLO 11, by Richard Maurer, Roaring Brook Press

Advertisements

DIGGING DEEP, HOW SCIENCE UNEARTHS PUZZLES FROM THE PAST, by Laura Scandiffio, Annick Press

Poisons, ice men, and graves, oh my! Every archeological find adds to our understanding of the world, but sometimes a discovery is made that is so startling and different that it changes the way we view history. Digging Deep showcases the most exciting examples of these lost puzzle pieces and how recent advances in science … Continue reading DIGGING DEEP, HOW SCIENCE UNEARTHS PUZZLES FROM THE PAST, by Laura Scandiffio, Annick Press

TRUTH AND RECONCILIATION IN CANADIAN SCHOOLS, by Pamela Rose Toulouse, Portage and Main Press

In this book, author Pamela Toulouse provides current information, personal insights, authentic resources, interactive strategies and lesson plans that support Indigenous and non-Indigenous learners in the classroom. This book is for all teachers that are looking for ways to respectfully infuse residential school history, treaty education, Indigenous contributions, First Nation/Métis/Inuit perspectives and sacred circle teachings … Continue reading TRUTH AND RECONCILIATION IN CANADIAN SCHOOLS, by Pamela Rose Toulouse, Portage and Main Press

THE DAY THE UNIVERSE EXPLODED MY HEAD, by Allan Wolf, Illustrated by Anna Raff, Candlewick Press

Hang on tight for a raucous bounce through the solar system and back -- propelled by funny, fanciful, factually sound poems and exuberant illustrations. The universe poured into me. My brain was overloaded. It smoked and glowed red-hot. And then it actually exploded. Ever wonder what the sun has to say about being the closest … Continue reading THE DAY THE UNIVERSE EXPLODED MY HEAD, by Allan Wolf, Illustrated by Anna Raff, Candlewick Press

BOOK BLOG TOUR: FEATURING: STAR SHEPHERD, by R.R. Virdi, Bolide Publishing Limited

BOOK BLOG TOUR: FEATURING The Blurb: A pilot on the run. A cargo that’ll change the fate of the galaxy forever. And the might of the military working to stop Star Shepherd from delivering salvation to the people. Star Shepherd knows a raw deal when he sees one. And he’s got the worst one in … Continue reading BOOK BLOG TOUR: FEATURING: STAR SHEPHERD, by R.R. Virdi, Bolide Publishing Limited

THE PSYCHOLOGY OF TIME TRAVEL, by Kate Mascarenhas, Crooked Lane Books

Perfect for fans of Naomi Alderman's The Power and Margot Lee Shetterly’s Hidden Figures comes The Psychology of Time Travel, a mind-bending, time-travel debut. In 1967, four female scientists worked together to build the world’s first time machine. But just as they are about to debut their creation, one of them suffers a breakdown, putting … Continue reading THE PSYCHOLOGY OF TIME TRAVEL, by Kate Mascarenhas, Crooked Lane Books

RED MOON, by Kim Stanley Robinson, Orbit Books/Hachette Book Group, Inc.

Out October 2018 IT IS THIRTY YEARS FROM NOW, AND WE HAVE COLONIZED THE MOON. American Fred Fredericks is making his first trip, his purpose to install a communications system for China's Lunar Science Foundation. But hours after his arrival he witnesses a murder and is forced into hiding. It is also the first visit … Continue reading RED MOON, by Kim Stanley Robinson, Orbit Books/Hachette Book Group, Inc.

LITERARY WONDERLANDS: JOURNEY THROUGH THE GREATEST FICTIONAL WORLDS EVER CREATED, by Laura Miller, General Editor, Black Dog & Leventhal Publishers

Out November 2016 A glorious, full-illustrated collection that delves deep into the inception, influences, and literary and historical underpinnings of nearly 100 of our most beloved fictional realms. Literary Wonderlands is a thoroughly researched, wonderfully written, and beautifully produced book that spans two thousand years of creative endeavor. From Spenser's The Fairie Queene to Wells's … Continue reading LITERARY WONDERLANDS: JOURNEY THROUGH THE GREATEST FICTIONAL WORLDS EVER CREATED, by Laura Miller, General Editor, Black Dog & Leventhal Publishers

INTO THE DROWNING DEEP, by Mira Grant, Orbit Books/Hachette Book Group, Inc.

Seven years ago, the Atargatis set off on a voyage to the Mariana Trench to film a “mockumentary” bringing to life ancient sea creatures of legend. It was lost at sea with all hands. Some have called it a hoax; others have called it a maritime tragedy. Now, a new crew has been assembled. But … Continue reading INTO THE DROWNING DEEP, by Mira Grant, Orbit Books/Hachette Book Group, Inc.

ANNEX, THE VIOLET WARS, by Rich Larson, Orbit Books

In Rich Larson's astonishing debut Annex, only outsiders can fight off the true aliens. At first it is a nightmare. When the invaders arrive, the world as they know it is destroyed. Their friends are kidnapped. Their families are changed. Then it is a dream. With no adults left to run things, Violet and the … Continue reading ANNEX, THE VIOLET WARS, by Rich Larson, Orbit Books