WHERE’S THE WITCH? by Ingela P. Arrhenius, Nosy Crow Ltd., Candlewick Press

Five stylishly illustrated spreads show a series of gently spooky creatures hiding behind bright felt flaps in this Halloween offering. A mirror on the final spread makes for a satisfying ending to the book's search-and-find inquiries. A perfect book to share with very little ones. Out July 2019 BOARD BOOK MY THOUGHTS: I received this … Continue reading WHERE’S THE WITCH? by Ingela P. Arrhenius, Nosy Crow Ltd., Candlewick Press

MALAMANDER, by Thomas Taylor, Illustrated by Tom Booth, Walker Books, Candlewick Press

Nobody visits Eerie-on-Sea in the winter. Especially not when darkness falls and the wind howls around Maw Rocks and the wreck of the battleship Leviathan, where even now some swear they have seen the unctuous malamander creep… Herbert Lemon, Lost-and-Founder at the Grand Nautilus Hotel, knows that returning lost things to their rightful owners is … Continue reading MALAMANDER, by Thomas Taylor, Illustrated by Tom Booth, Walker Books, Candlewick Press

MR. POSEY’S NEW GLASSES, by Ted Kooser, Illustrated by Daniel Duncan, Candlewick Press

In a charming tale of an elderly man and his obliging young friend, former poet laureate Ted Kooser and newcomer Daniel Duncan invite us to look at the world with fresh eyes. Mr. Posey is feeling gloomy. Everything seems dull. Maybe he needs new glasses? Perhaps a trip to the Cheer Up Thrift Shop with … Continue reading MR. POSEY’S NEW GLASSES, by Ted Kooser, Illustrated by Daniel Duncan, Candlewick Press

SOMETHING READ SOMETHING DEAD, #5 Lighthouse Library Mysteries Series, by Eva Gates, Crooked Lane Books, PGC

National bestselling author Eva Gates’s fifth Lighthouse Library mystery will carry fans of Miranda James and Jenn McKinlay to the Outer Banks of North Carolina. Dark deeds in the Lighthouse Library threaten to send Lucy Richardson’s soon-to-be-wed cousin Josie to an early ‘til-death-do-us-part. Winter falls on North Carolina’s Outer Banks as Lucy Richardson and her … Continue reading SOMETHING READ SOMETHING DEAD, #5 Lighthouse Library Mysteries Series, by Eva Gates, Crooked Lane Books, PGC

MASTERS OF SILENCE, by Kathy Kacer, Annick Press

Silence can be powerful. Kathy Kacer's second book in her middle grade series about heroic rescues during WWII tells the tale of siblings Helen and Henry, and history's most famous mime. Desperate to save them from the Nazis, Henry and Helen's mother makes the harrowing decision to take her children from their home in 1940s … Continue reading MASTERS OF SILENCE, by Kathy Kacer, Annick Press

THE PSYCHOLOGY OF TIME TRAVEL, by Kate Mascarenhas, Crooked Lane Books

Perfect for fans of Naomi Alderman's The Power and Margot Lee Shetterly’s Hidden Figures comes The Psychology of Time Travel, a mind-bending, time-travel debut. In 1967, four female scientists worked together to build the world’s first time machine. But just as they are about to debut their creation, one of them suffers a breakdown, putting … Continue reading THE PSYCHOLOGY OF TIME TRAVEL, by Kate Mascarenhas, Crooked Lane Books

JERUSALEM’S QUEEN: THE SILENT YEARS: A NOVEL OF SALOME ALEXANDRA, by Angela Hunt, Bethany House/Bakers Publishing Group

Born in the small village of Modein, a town made famous by the warrior Maccabees, Salome Alexandra knows better than to harbor grand dreams for her future. She pales in comparison to her beautiful older sister, and though she learns to read at an early age, girls are not valued for their intellectual ability. But … Continue reading JERUSALEM’S QUEEN: THE SILENT YEARS: A NOVEL OF SALOME ALEXANDRA, by Angela Hunt, Bethany House/Bakers Publishing Group

TRANSCRIPTION, by Kate Atkinson, Bond Street Book/Doubleday Canada/PenguinRandomHouse

From the bestselling author of Life After Life, a new novel that explores the repercussions of one young woman's espionage work during World War II. Juliet Armstrong is a dissatisfied radio producer in a 1950s London that is recovering from the war as much as she is. During World War Two, Juliet was conscripted into … Continue reading TRANSCRIPTION, by Kate Atkinson, Bond Street Book/Doubleday Canada/PenguinRandomHouse

BECOMING BELLE, by Nuala O’Connor, Penguin/PenguinRandomHouse

A witty and inherently feminist novel about passion and marriage, based on a true story of an unstoppable woman ahead of her time in Victorian London. In 1887, Isabel Bilton is the eldest of three daughters of a middle-class military family, growing up in a small garrison town. By 1891 she is the Countess of … Continue reading BECOMING BELLE, by Nuala O’Connor, Penguin/PenguinRandomHouse

FIERCE FAIRYTALES, POEMS & STORIES TO STIR YOUR SOUL, by Nikita Gill, Hachette Books

Poet, writer, and Instagram sensation Nikita Gill returns with a collection of fairytales poetically retold for a new generation of women. Traditional fairytales are rife with cliches and gender stereotypes: beautiful, silent princesses; ugly, jealous, and bitter villainesses; girls who need rescuing; and men who take all the glory. But in this rousing new prose … Continue reading FIERCE FAIRYTALES, POEMS & STORIES TO STIR YOUR SOUL, by Nikita Gill, Hachette Books