BEST BABYSITTERS EVER: THE GOOD, THE BAD AND THE BOSSY, by Caroline Cala, HMH Kids


40796165.jpg

Being a boss isn’t all it’s cracked up to be in the second book of the Best Babysitters Ever series. Perfect for fans of Rachel Vail and Sarah Mlynowski.

Just when Malia, Dot, and Bree (aka the Best Babysitters Ever) corner the Playa Del Mar babysitting market, their lives get even busier. Malia’s evil older sister ropes her into a thankless internship. Dot must win the science fair. And Bree’s brand new cat turns out to be a holy terror. Meow! Malia is frustrated by the group’s lack of commitment until she has an idea so great it rivals the creation of the club in the first place: they can hire new babysitters and take a cut of their wages! It’s all of the money, and less of the babysitting. This plan is too perfect to fail. Until—spoiler alert—it does, in the most hilarious way possible.

Out August 2019

304 Pages Approx.

MY THOUGHTS:

I received this book in exchange for my honest review.

As a teen, I made money babysitting probably like most girls in their early teens before getting jobs in stores or fast-food chain restaurants, etc.  So when I saw this book, I was excited to read and review it. It is the second book of a series: Best Bad Babysitters Ever. This is the debut series of Cala, a writer and editor residing in Brooklyn.

Pretty much the title says it all–babysitters who think they’re the best but are really the worse, yet, somehow manage to come out smelling like roses, and, there’s a lesson to learn in all the chaos.  I do like the idea that the author gives some challenges that are a bit above their age range to show readers of the same age that dreaming ‘big’ is a healthy reality.

The characters continue to be quirky and sometimes, silly, often times they show brilliance or just sheer dumb luck, whichever it is, they resolve their issues showing strength of character and a strong resolve, excellent examples for readers of the same age.

These are pre-teen girls, so drama, drama, drama! Excellent for grades five to seven, or ages ten to twelve. A fun read and so far, a great series reminiscent of the Babysitters’ Club.

I gave this book:

5-Star-Logo-2

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.