HARRY’S TREES, by Jon Cohen, Mira Books/Harper Collins

36540759

The first thing you learn when you climb a tree is to hold on. Now it’s time for Harry to learn to let go…

Thirty-four-year-old Harry Crane, lifelong lover of trees, works as an analyst in a treeless US Forest Service office. When his wife dies in a freak accident, devastated, he makes his way to the remote woods of northeastern Pennsylvania’s Endless Mountains, intent on losing himself. But fate intervenes in the form of a fiercely determined young girl named Oriana. She, too, has lost someone—her father. And in the magical, willful world of her reckoning, Oriana believes that Harry is the key to finding her way back to him.

As Harry agrees to help the young girl, the unlikeliest of elements—a tree house, a Wolf, a small-town librarian and a book called The Grum’s Ledger—come together to create the biggest sensation ever to descend upon the Endless Mountains…a golden adventure that will fulfill Oriana’s wildest dreams and open the door to a new life for Harry.

“Harry’s Trees” is an uplifting tale about love, loss, friendship and redemption. Fans of Fredrik Backman’s “A Man Called Ove” and Gabrielle Zevin’s “The Storied Life of A.J. Fikry will find in its relentless good humor a much-needed remedy for these fraught times.”

Out June 12, 2018

 

BIO17138344

“A former critical care nurse, Jon Cohen is the author of the novels “The Man in the Window” and “Max Lakeman and the Beautiful Stranger.” He is the recipient of a creative writing grant from the National Endowment for the Arts, and is the co-writer of the film “Minority Report,” directed by Steven Spielberg.

Jon lives with his wife outside of Philadelphia. His new novel, HARRY’S TREES, will be published by MIRA in June 2018.”

MY THOUGHTS:

I received this ARC in exchange for my honest review.

I love the cover of this book! Harper Collins is putting out some nice covers finally!

This book is full of memorable characters, beautifully created and nurtured to the end of the story where they’ve grown to amazing quality and are realistically loved.

Quirky, funny and filled with heart-warming moments, truly a great book to read.

The need for human relations is examined after grief when loss has taken its toll and where newfound relationships can be made from the ashes of those gone without attempting to replace the old.  Underdogs rule the forest, fairy tales could be true, and new friendships promise to heal, grow and become something remarkable. The author provides insight into healing from grief through a strong narrative. A bit of whimsy, lots of inner reflections and fantastically interesting characters to pull the story along to a great finish. What more could you want… well, there’s also this tree house…

I adore Orianna and her beautiful mind.  Harry tugged at my heart and I couldn’t wait to see how he would handle his own inner demons that he wrestled with constantly. When the two were together, it was magical. Kindness rules and it never ceases to amaze me how people who are hurting the most can reach deep inside and find kindness for others.

You have cause and effect that meets up with redemption through understanding coated with a good layer of love, hope and kindness.

So… do you wanna build a tree house?

This will be a wonderful summer read and I know I will be recommending it to everyone!

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “HARRY’S TREES, by Jon Cohen, Mira Books/Harper Collins

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

w

Connecting to %s