THE NICKEL BOYS, by Colson Whitehead, Bond Street Books, Doubleday Canada, Penguin Random House Canada

Colson Whitehead brilliantly dramatizes another strand of American history through the story of two boys sentenced to a hellish reform school in Jim Crow-era Florida. As the Civil Rights movement begins to reach the black enclave of Frenchtown in segregated Tallahassee, Elwood Curtis takes the words of Dr. Martin Luther King to heart: He is … Continue reading THE NICKEL BOYS, by Colson Whitehead, Bond Street Books, Doubleday Canada, Penguin Random House Canada

Advertisements

BETWEEN THE ORANGE GROVES, by Nadia Marks, Pan Macmillan Publishers

In a small village, set among the wild mountains of Cyprus, two families of different faiths share a seemingly unbreakable friendship based on mutual respect and deep affection. Mothers and daughters share their daily secrets, fathers and sons support each other as they live their lives between the fragrant pine trees and orange groves. It's … Continue reading BETWEEN THE ORANGE GROVES, by Nadia Marks, Pan Macmillan Publishers

THE WOLF AND THE WATCHMAN, by Niklas Natt Och Dag, Atria Books, Simon and Schuster

In this breathtakingly bold, intricately constructed novel set in 18th century Stockholm, a dying man searches among the city’s teeming streets, dark corners, and intriguing inhabitants to unmask a ruthless murderer—perfect for fans of Perfume and The Alienist. It is 1793. Four years after the storming of the Bastille in France and more than a … Continue reading THE WOLF AND THE WATCHMAN, by Niklas Natt Och Dag, Atria Books, Simon and Schuster

THE HEAVENS, by Sandra Newman, Grove Press, Grove Atlantic, Publishers Group West, Raincoast Books

A work of rare literary brilliance and emotional power, The Heavens is a mesmerizing novel of love and time, of dreams and politics, that asks how we come to inhabit our world New York, late summer, 2000. A party in a spacious Manhattan apartment, hosted by a wealthy young activist. Dozens of idealistic twenty-somethings have … Continue reading THE HEAVENS, by Sandra Newman, Grove Press, Grove Atlantic, Publishers Group West, Raincoast Books

AN AFFAIR OF POISINS, by Addie Thorley, Page Street Publishing

No one looks kindly on the killer of a king. After unwittingly helping her mother poison King Louis XIV, seventeen-year-old alchemist Mirabelle Monvoisin is forced to see her mother’s Shadow Society in a horrifying new light: they’re not heroes of the people, as they’ve always claimed to be, but murderers. Herself included. Mira tries to … Continue reading AN AFFAIR OF POISINS, by Addie Thorley, Page Street Publishing

LITTLE CULINARY TRIUMPHS, by Pascale Pujol, Europa Editions

Set in the storied Parisian quarter of Montmarte, this heartwarming, comic tale is a must for foodies, Francophiles, and lovers of a good story well told. Made famous by artists, writers, and bon vivants of every ilk, Montmartre has been the stomping ground for bohemian celebrities through the ages and a neighborhood synonymous with transgression … Continue reading LITTLE CULINARY TRIUMPHS, by Pascale Pujol, Europa Editions

ONCE UPON A RIVER, by Diane Setterfield, Atria/Emily Bestler Boooks, Double Day Book/PenguinRandomHouse

A dark midwinter’s night in an ancient inn on the Thames. The regulars are entertaining themselves by telling stories when the door bursts open on an injured stranger. In his arms is the drowned corpse of a little child. Hours later the dead girl stirs, takes a breath and returns to life. Is it a … Continue reading ONCE UPON A RIVER, by Diane Setterfield, Atria/Emily Bestler Boooks, Double Day Book/PenguinRandomHouse

ONCE WE WERE STRANGERS: WHAT FRIENDSHIP WITH A SYRIAN REFUGEE TAUGHT ME ABOUT LOVING MY NEIGHBOR, by Shawn Smucker, Fleming H. Revell Company/Baker Publishing Group

In 2012, Mohammad fled his Syrian village along with his wife and four sons, escaping to Jordan through the wilderness. Four years later he sat across from Shawn Smucker in a small conference room in Lancaster, Pennsylvania. Though neither of them knew it, Mohammad had arrived in Shawn's life just in time. This is the … Continue reading ONCE WE WERE STRANGERS: WHAT FRIENDSHIP WITH A SYRIAN REFUGEE TAUGHT ME ABOUT LOVING MY NEIGHBOR, by Shawn Smucker, Fleming H. Revell Company/Baker Publishing Group

FROM HOLMES TO SHERLOCK, by Mattias Bostrom, Mysterious Press/Grove Atlantic/Publishers Group West

Everyone knows Sherlock Holmes. Sir Arthur Conan Doyle created a unique literary character who has remained popular for over a century and is appreciated more than ever today. But what made this fictional character, dreamed up by a small-town English doctor in the 1880s, into such a lasting success, despite the author’s own attempt to … Continue reading FROM HOLMES TO SHERLOCK, by Mattias Bostrom, Mysterious Press/Grove Atlantic/Publishers Group West

THE END OF THE END OF THE EARTH, by Jonathan Franzen (Essays), Bond Street Book/Penguin

A sharp and provocative new essay collection from the award-winning author of Freedom and The Corrections. The essayist, Jonathan Franzen writes, is like “a fire-fighter, whose job, while everyone else is fleeing the flames of shame, is to run straight into them.” For the past twenty-five years, even as his novels have earned him worldwide … Continue reading THE END OF THE END OF THE EARTH, by Jonathan Franzen (Essays), Bond Street Book/Penguin