THE MISCALCULATIONS OF LIGHTNING GIRL, by Stacy McAnulty/ Random House

33004208

Middle school is the one problem Lucy Callahan can’t solve in this middle-grade novel perfect for fans of The Fourteenth Goldfish, Rain Reign, and Counting by 7s.

Lucy Callahan was struck by lightning. She doesn’t remember it, but it changed her life forever. The zap gave her genius-level math skills, and ever since, Lucy has been homeschooled. Now, at 12 years old, she’s technically ready for college. She just has to pass 1 more test–middle school!

Lucy’s grandma insists: Go to middle school for 1 year. Make 1 friend. Join 1 activity. And read 1 book (that’s not a math textbook!). Lucy’s not sure what a girl who does calculus homework for fun can possibly learn in 7th grade. She has everything she needs at home, where nobody can make fun of her rigid routines or her superpowered brain. The equation of Lucy’s life has already been solved. Unless there’s been a miscalculation?

A celebration of friendship, Stacy McAnulty’s smart and thoughtful middle-grade debut reminds us all to get out of our comfort zones and embrace what makes us different.

“An engaging story, full of heart and hope. Readers of all ages will root for Lucy, aka Lightning Girl. No miscalculations here!” –Kate Beasley, author of Gertie’s Leap to Greatness.

Out May 1st, 2018

MY THOUGHTS:

I received this book in exchange for my honest review.

First I have to say, I really wish people would stop comparing new books to those already written and published.  Comparing this book to “Rain Man” is ridiculous since the only connection is the math element.  This book is nothing like “Rain Man.”

Anyway, moving on…

I absolutely loved seeing how the MC’s character developed. This girl is truly gifted and amazing after being struck by lightning.  Her support network is astounding, Grandma being the main part of this group.  Grandma’s strengths show having rubbed off on Lucy and it was a lovely connection, if not an obvious one, that displayed how a secondary character helps to propel the MC toward her goals.

The struggles that the MC goes through were researched and written very well and described in such a way to add to the MC’s personality quirks. You can’t help but love her for it.  The journey to self-discovery, self-development was a great trip to take with the MC. I enjoyed Lucy’s challenges to fit-in, and when she learned that she wasn’t the only one with issues.  It was great to see how she handled being accepted by others and how her mind worked–wonderful insight provided by the author. The sitting down OCD quirk reminded me of Sheldon on the Big Bang Theory and how he has to knock three times before the door can be opened for him.  Love it!

The author’s voice was wonderful reflected in her writing as easy-going and understanding.  Her writing style is engaging and interesting and kept the pace of the novel moving along as easy to read and insightful.

Books about personal growth for someone considered “special needs” is wonderful to see, I just wish there were more.

The whole package, plot, premise, pace, cover, etc. was wrapped up in a pretty bow and successfully delivered.

I gave this book:

5starReviews-1

 

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s