ONCE WE WERE STRANGERS: WHAT FRIENDSHIP WITH A SYRIAN REFUGEE TAUGHT ME ABOUT LOVING MY NEIGHBOR, by Shawn Smucker, Fleming H. Revell Company/Baker Publishing Group

In 2012, Mohammad fled his Syrian village along with his wife and four sons, escaping to Jordan through the wilderness. Four years later he sat across from Shawn Smucker in a small conference room in Lancaster, Pennsylvania. Though neither of them knew it, Mohammad had arrived in Shawn's life just in time. This is the … Continue reading ONCE WE WERE STRANGERS: WHAT FRIENDSHIP WITH A SYRIAN REFUGEE TAUGHT ME ABOUT LOVING MY NEIGHBOR, by Shawn Smucker, Fleming H. Revell Company/Baker Publishing Group

Advertisements

RED MOON, by Kim Stanley Robinson, Orbit Books/Hachette Book Group, Inc.

Out October 2018 IT IS THIRTY YEARS FROM NOW, AND WE HAVE COLONIZED THE MOON. American Fred Fredericks is making his first trip, his purpose to install a communications system for China's Lunar Science Foundation. But hours after his arrival he witnesses a murder and is forced into hiding. It is also the first visit … Continue reading RED MOON, by Kim Stanley Robinson, Orbit Books/Hachette Book Group, Inc.

KIDS COOKING, STUDENTS PREPARE AND EAT FOODS FROM AROUND THE WORLD, by George Ancona, Candlewick Press

Engaging photographs follow a diverse group of kids as they find out where their food comes from, how to prepare it -- and how great it is to share a meal together. Roll up your sleeves, wash your hands, and join four different groups of kids as they prepare recipes from all over the world, … Continue reading KIDS COOKING, STUDENTS PREPARE AND EAT FOODS FROM AROUND THE WORLD, by George Ancona, Candlewick Press

THE MISCALCULATIONS OF LIGHTNING GIRL, by Stacy McAnulty/ Random House

Middle school is the one problem Lucy Callahan can't solve in this middle-grade novel perfect for fans of The Fourteenth Goldfish, Rain Reign, and Counting by 7s. Lucy Callahan was struck by lightning. She doesn't remember it, but it changed her life forever. The zap gave her genius-level math skills, and ever since, Lucy has … Continue reading THE MISCALCULATIONS OF LIGHTNING GIRL, by Stacy McAnulty/ Random House