THE LITTLE GREY GIRL, by Celine Kiernan, Candlewick Press

In the second book of the Wild Magic trilogy, courageous young Mup and her family are trying to heal and restore the kingdom when they uncover an ancient and powerful anger. The old queen and her raggedy witches have fled Witches Borough, and Mup’s family has moved into the cold, newly empty castle. But the … Continue reading THE LITTLE GREY GIRL, by Celine Kiernan, Candlewick Press

A BOY AND HIS DOG AT THE END OF THE WORLD, by C.A. Fletcher, Orbit, Hachette Book Publishers

When a beloved family dog is stolen, her owner sets out on a life-changing journey through the ruins of our world to bring her back in this fiercely compelling tale of survival, courage, and hope. Perfect for readers of Station Eleven and The Girl With All the Gifts. My name's Griz. My childhood wasn't like … Continue reading A BOY AND HIS DOG AT THE END OF THE WORLD, by C.A. Fletcher, Orbit, Hachette Book Publishers

THE MIGRATION, by Helen Marshall, Random House Canada

Creepy and atmospheric, evocative of Stephen King's classic Pet Sematary , The Migration is a story of sisterhood, transformation, and the limitations of love, from a thrilling new voice in Canadian fiction. When I was younger I didn't know a thing about death. I thought it meant stillness, a body gone limp. A marionette with … Continue reading THE MIGRATION, by Helen Marshall, Random House Canada

FINDING HOPE AT HILLSIDE FARM, by Rachael Lucas, Panmacmillan, PGC, Raincoast

Finding Hope at Hillside Farm is a heartwarming tale of loss, love and new beginnings by Rachael Lucas. Hillside Farm, nestled in the rolling hills of the Welsh countryside, is a safe haven for Ella. Working with her aunt Bron, she runs her own business, sharing her love of horses to help those in emotional … Continue reading FINDING HOPE AT HILLSIDE FARM, by Rachael Lucas, Panmacmillan, PGC, Raincoast

THE BRIDE OF IVY GREEN, by Julie Klassen, Bethany House, Graf-Martin

Much has happened in idyllic Ivy Hill in recent months, and while several villagers have found new love and purpose, questions remain--and a few dearly held dreams have yet to be fulfilled. Jane Bell is torn. Gabriel Locke is back and has made his intentions clear. But Jane is reluctant to give up her inn … Continue reading THE BRIDE OF IVY GREEN, by Julie Klassen, Bethany House, Graf-Martin

WE HOPE FOR BETTER THINGS, by Erin Bartels, Fleming H. Revell Co, Graf-Martin

When Detroit Free Press reporter Elizabeth Balsam meets James Rich, his strange request--that she look up a relative she didn't know she had in order to deliver an old camera and a box of photos--seems like it isn't worth her time. But when she loses her job after a botched investigation, she suddenly finds herself … Continue reading WE HOPE FOR BETTER THINGS, by Erin Bartels, Fleming H. Revell Co, Graf-Martin

SURVIVING THE CITY by Tasha Spillett, Illustrated by Natasha Donovan, Highwater Press

Tasha Spillett’s graphic novel debut, Surviving the City, is a story about womanhood, friendship, colonialism, and the anguish of a missing loved one. Miikwan and Dez are best friends. Miikwan is Anishinaabe; Dez is Inninew. Together, the teens navigate the challenges of growing up in an urban landscape – they’re so close, they even completed … Continue reading SURVIVING THE CITY by Tasha Spillett, Illustrated by Natasha Donovan, Highwater Press

THE WOLF AND THE WATCHMAN, by Niklas Natt Och Dag, Atria Books, Simon and Schuster

In this breathtakingly bold, intricately constructed novel set in 18th century Stockholm, a dying man searches among the city’s teeming streets, dark corners, and intriguing inhabitants to unmask a ruthless murderer—perfect for fans of Perfume and The Alienist. It is 1793. Four years after the storming of the Bastille in France and more than a … Continue reading THE WOLF AND THE WATCHMAN, by Niklas Natt Och Dag, Atria Books, Simon and Schuster

A GIRL NAMED LOVELY, by Catherine Porter, Simon & Schuster

An insightful and uplifting memoir about a young Haitian girl in post-earthquake Haiti, and the profound, life-changing effect she had on one journalist’s life. In January 2010, a devastating earthquake struck Haiti, killing hundreds of thousands of people and paralyzing the country. Catherine Porter, a newly minted international reporter, was on the ground in the … Continue reading A GIRL NAMED LOVELY, by Catherine Porter, Simon & Schuster

THE CHRISTMAS EVE TREE, by Delia Huddy, Illustrated by Emily Sutton, Candlewick Press

When the ugly little fir tree is taken to the city, no one wants to buy him; they prefer the big tall trees. But a homeless boy asks the shopkeeper if he can take the tree, and down by the river in a cardboard box, decorated with a few candles, the tree finds itself at the center of a magical Christmas Eve it will never forget. A Christmas tale with a classic feel but a modern theme at its heart.