EMMY IN THE KEY OF CODE, by Aimee Lucido, Versify Books, HMHKids


43261110

In this innovative middle grade novel, coding and music take center stage as new girl Emmy tries to find her place in a new school. Perfect for fans of GIRLS WHO CODE series and THE CROSSOVER

Out September 2019

416 Pages Approx.

MY THOUGHTS:

I received this book in exchange for my honest review.

So, when I got this book, I thought: “Wow, this is one thick book.”

I opened the cover and flipped through its pages and thought: “Great! Another novelty format.” I hate novelty formats. Okay, maybe hate is too strong a word… I dislike enormously but not too much to fill a canyon or rise above half a mountain.

🙂

However, my job as a reviewer, a true reviewer… is not to judge without at least giving it a good effort at understanding and an honest attempt at reading at least two chapters. So I began.

Page 389 came faster than expected and I now have a new word: fortissimo

At the back of the book is a glossary of coding terms that explains a lot of what you’ll encounter throughout the book. I advise you read this first. There are many things about this book that I found fascinating. The book covers STEM and addresses girls’ empowerment. We’ve all been in middle-school, so we all know how it constantly changes especially within friendships. We know how people’s interests affects who we hang with and how we grow and fall. Boys at this age are immature and annoying; girls are standoffish or withdrawn.

Drama, drama, drama… basically it drives our pre-teen girls and leaves pre-teen boys shrugging and scratching their heads wondering what just ran them over–a mac truck or a pre-teen girl? It’s all about the clothes, and boys.

Finding this book written in verse and code is remarkable and worthy of a novelty-hating reviewer’s time. This one is glad she made the effort and extremely happy she’s discovered she’s not so much a hater as she’d first thought. OMG! (she says with a hair flip)

The book appears thick but it’s actually a quick read, formatted to fit the verse style of writing and the extensive coding. You get a glimpse into a pre-teen girl’s life and her desire to find where she fits in in the world that is incredibly new and large to her. We all want to belong somewhere, Emmy is no different.

By the time I finished this book, my thoughts were locked in my own memories of middle-school and the issues/struggles I faced.  It’s good to find a book for the girls of today to relate to.  Good for coders, poets and even those who love music!

I gave it:

5-Star-Logo-2

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.