PICK A PUMPKIN, by Patricia Toht, Illustrated by Jarvis, Candlewick Press

Pick a pumpkin from the patch. Tall and lean or short and fat. Vivid orange, ghostly white, or speckled green, might be just right. Pairing a wonderfully rhythmic read-aloud text with expressive retro illustrations, author Patricia Toht and illustrator Jarvis capture all the excitement and familial feeling of a favorite holiday tradition. Readers will be … Continue reading PICK A PUMPKIN, by Patricia Toht, Illustrated by Jarvis, Candlewick Press

MR. SCRUFF, by Simon James, Candlewick Press

A sweetly silly story of a little boy and a dog who make an unlikely (but perhaps perfect) pair. Everyone knows that owners and their dogs belong together in a unique way. Polly belongs to Molly, Eric belongs to Derek, Berry belongs to Terry. But poor Mr. Scruff, alone in the rescue shelter, doesn't belong … Continue reading MR. SCRUFF, by Simon James, Candlewick Press

BETWEEN WORLDS: FOLKTALES OF BRITAIN AND IRELAND, by Kevin Crossley-Holland, Illustrated by Frances Castle, Candlewick Press

The definitive collection of British and Irish folktales from master storyteller and poet Kevin Crossley-Holland. Rich and strange, these eerie and magical folktales from across Britain and Ireland have been passed down from generation to generation, and are gathered together in a definitive new collection from the master storyteller and winner of the Carnegie Medal, … Continue reading BETWEEN WORLDS: FOLKTALES OF BRITAIN AND IRELAND, by Kevin Crossley-Holland, Illustrated by Frances Castle, Candlewick Press

EMMY IN THE KEY OF CODE, by Aimee Lucido, Versify Books, HMHKids

In this innovative middle grade novel, coding and music take center stage as new girl Emmy tries to find her place in a new school. Perfect for fans of GIRLS WHO CODE series and THE CROSSOVER Out September 2019 416 Pages Approx. MY THOUGHTS: I received this book in exchange for my honest review. So, … Continue reading EMMY IN THE KEY OF CODE, by Aimee Lucido, Versify Books, HMHKids

THE AWESOME, IMPOSSIBLE, UNSTOPPABLE GADGET, by Kevin Kelly & Rebecca Kelly, Imprint, Macmillan Children’s Publishing Group

This inspiring picture book about incredible inventions going haywire illustrates that with persistence, anyone can be awesome, impossible, and unstoppable. Trixie O'Toole is super-excited to be at Camp Create, where she can invent whatever she likes. But when a boy nicknamed "Professor" von Junk gets all the attention, Trixie feels left out. Still, she persists … Continue reading THE AWESOME, IMPOSSIBLE, UNSTOPPABLE GADGET, by Kevin Kelly & Rebecca Kelly, Imprint, Macmillan Children’s Publishing Group

HELLO, I’M HERE, by Helen Frost and Rick Lieder, Candlewick Press

A poetic text and wonderfully intimate photographs follow a newborn sandhill crane as it takes its first steps into the world. Will my legs hold me? What if I fall? Peek in as a sandhill crane hatchling makes its first wobbly stand and takes its first steps alongside its brother. With their parents close by, … Continue reading HELLO, I’M HERE, by Helen Frost and Rick Lieder, Candlewick Press

SOME DAYS, by Kren Kaufman Orloff, Illustrated by Ziyue Chen, Sterling Children Books

“Some days are chocolate pudding pie days. Kites up in the sky days. Jumping super high days.” This rhyming picture book—from the author of the bestselling I Wanna Iguana series and Miles of Smiles—is a moving, powerful, delightful exploration of a child’s shifting feelings.   Come along and follow a year in the life of … Continue reading SOME DAYS, by Kren Kaufman Orloff, Illustrated by Ziyue Chen, Sterling Children Books

JUST READ, by Lori Degman, Illustrated by Victoria Tentler-Krylov, Sterling Publishing

These kids all love to read—alone or together, on a bus or in a parade. And every time they open a book, they open up a whole new world, too! “A delightful tribute to reading anything and everything all the time. . . . There’s something for everyone.” —Booklist “A chipper, colorful celebration of the … Continue reading JUST READ, by Lori Degman, Illustrated by Victoria Tentler-Krylov, Sterling Publishing

WHITE ROSE, by Kip Wilson, HMHTeen, Houghton Mifflin Harcourt Books for Young Readers

A gorgeous and timely novel based on the incredible story of Sophie Scholl, a young German college student who challenged the Nazi regime during World War II as part of The White Rose, a non-violent resistance group. Disillusioned by the propaganda of Nazi Germany, Sophie Scholl, her brother, and his fellow soldiers formed the White … Continue reading WHITE ROSE, by Kip Wilson, HMHTeen, Houghton Mifflin Harcourt Books for Young Readers

THE DAY THE UNIVERSE EXPLODED MY HEAD, by Allan Wolf, Illustrated by Anna Raff, Candlewick Press

Hang on tight for a raucous bounce through the solar system and back -- propelled by funny, fanciful, factually sound poems and exuberant illustrations. The universe poured into me. My brain was overloaded. It smoked and glowed red-hot. And then it actually exploded. Ever wonder what the sun has to say about being the closest … Continue reading THE DAY THE UNIVERSE EXPLODED MY HEAD, by Allan Wolf, Illustrated by Anna Raff, Candlewick Press