LIMELIGHT, by Solli Raphael, Andrews McMeel Publishing

Age is no barrier to creating poetry that inspires social change and positive action. Thirteen-year-old award-winning slam poet Solli Raphael is taking on the world … one word at a time. The future needs you and me to create equality across all levels of humanity ~ Solli Limelight is a unique collection of slam poetry … Continue reading LIMELIGHT, by Solli Raphael, Andrews McMeel Publishing

PICK A PUMPKIN, by Patricia Toht, Illustrated by Jarvis, Candlewick Press

Pick a pumpkin from the patch. Tall and lean or short and fat. Vivid orange, ghostly white, or speckled green, might be just right. Pairing a wonderfully rhythmic read-aloud text with expressive retro illustrations, author Patricia Toht and illustrator Jarvis capture all the excitement and familial feeling of a favorite holiday tradition. Readers will be … Continue reading PICK A PUMPKIN, by Patricia Toht, Illustrated by Jarvis, Candlewick Press

MR. SCRUFF, by Simon James, Candlewick Press

A sweetly silly story of a little boy and a dog who make an unlikely (but perhaps perfect) pair. Everyone knows that owners and their dogs belong together in a unique way. Polly belongs to Molly, Eric belongs to Derek, Berry belongs to Terry. But poor Mr. Scruff, alone in the rescue shelter, doesn't belong … Continue reading MR. SCRUFF, by Simon James, Candlewick Press

EMMY IN THE KEY OF CODE, by Aimee Lucido, Versify Books, HMHKids

In this innovative middle grade novel, coding and music take center stage as new girl Emmy tries to find her place in a new school. Perfect for fans of GIRLS WHO CODE series and THE CROSSOVER Out September 2019 416 Pages Approx. MY THOUGHTS: I received this book in exchange for my honest review. So, … Continue reading EMMY IN THE KEY OF CODE, by Aimee Lucido, Versify Books, HMHKids