MY GRANDMA AND ME, by Mina Javaherbin, Illustrated by Lindsey Yankey,

In a true tale of a young girl in Iran and her grandmother, this beautiful ode to family celebrates small moments of love that become lifelong memories. In this big universe full of many moons, I have traveled and seen many wonders, but I have never loved anything or anyone the way I love my … Continue reading MY GRANDMA AND ME, by Mina Javaherbin, Illustrated by Lindsey Yankey,

SNUG HARBOR STORIES, WALLACE THE BRAVE COLLECTION, by Will Henry, Andrews McMeel Publishing

The follow up to the Eisner-nominated collection of Wallace the Brave comics, featuring beautifully illustrated scenes of childhood imagination, friendship, outdoor exploration, and adventure. Think "Peanuts" if Charlie Brown were less of a mope or "Calvin & Hobbes" if Calvin weren't a bit of a psychopath. "Wallace The Brave" is about a family. There's Dad, … Continue reading SNUG HARBOR STORIES, WALLACE THE BRAVE COLLECTION, by Will Henry, Andrews McMeel Publishing

THE GRIZZLY MOTHER, by Hetxw’ms Gyetxw (Brett D. Huson), Natasha Donovan, Highwater Press

An engaging look at how the animals, people, and seasons within an ecosystem are intertwined. To the Gitxsan people of Northwestern British Columbia, the grizzly is an integral part of the natural landscape. Together, they share the land and forests that the Skeena River runs through, as well as the sockeye salmon within it. Follow … Continue reading THE GRIZZLY MOTHER, by Hetxw’ms Gyetxw (Brett D. Huson), Natasha Donovan, Highwater Press

PETALS OF A ROSE, by Alley Mcintosh, Self-Published

  This is a collection of poems and short stories about the life of my grandmother which talks about several real world issues with a focus on cancer. 79 Pages Out June 2019 MY THOUGHTS: I received this book in exchange for my honest review. I do not normally read poetry unless it's by a … Continue reading PETALS OF A ROSE, by Alley Mcintosh, Self-Published

JUANA & LUCAS: BIG PROBLEMS, by Juana Medina, Candlewick Press

Fans of Judy Moody and Clarice Bean will love Juana, the spunky young Colombian girl who stars in this playful, abundantly illustrated new series. Juana loves many things — drawing, eating Brussels sprouts, living in Bogotá, Colombia, and especially her dog, Lucas, the best amigo ever. She does not love wearing her itchy school uniform, … Continue reading JUANA & LUCAS: BIG PROBLEMS, by Juana Medina, Candlewick Press

THE LONDON UNDERWORLD, IN THE VICTORIAN PERIOD, AUTHENTIC FIRS-PERSON ACCOUNTS BY BEGGARS, THIEVES AND PROSTITUTES, by Henry Mayhew (and others), Dover Publications

The first and possibly the greatest sociological study of poverty in 19th-century London, this survey by a journalist invented the genre of oral history a century before the term was coined. Henry Mayhew vowed "to publish the history of a people, from the lips of the people themselves — giving a literal description of their … Continue reading THE LONDON UNDERWORLD, IN THE VICTORIAN PERIOD, AUTHENTIC FIRS-PERSON ACCOUNTS BY BEGGARS, THIEVES AND PROSTITUTES, by Henry Mayhew (and others), Dover Publications

NOT THE BOSS OF US: PUTTING OVERWHELMED IN ITS PLACE IN A DO-ALL, BE-ALL WORLD, by Kay Wills Wyma, Revell/Baker Publishing Group

Out August 2018 Too much to manage and not enough time or energy to do it? Join the club. Life is a pressure cooker and, more and more, being overwhelmed is just considered normal. But, truth be told, life's stresses and circumstances aren't the boss of us. What if we could take Overwhelmed and diffuse … Continue reading NOT THE BOSS OF US: PUTTING OVERWHELMED IN ITS PLACE IN A DO-ALL, BE-ALL WORLD, by Kay Wills Wyma, Revell/Baker Publishing Group

RIVER TO REDEMPTION, by Ann H. Gabhart, Revell/Baker Publishing Group

Orphaned in the cholera epidemic of 1833, Adria Starr was cared for by a slave named Louis, a man who stayed in Springfield, Kentucky, when anyone with means had fled. A man who passed up the opportunity to escape his bondage and instead tended to the sick and buried the dead. A man who, twelve … Continue reading RIVER TO REDEMPTION, by Ann H. Gabhart, Revell/Baker Publishing Group

ON THE OTHER SIDE OF THE GARDEN, by Rafael Yockteng, Groundwood Books House of Anansi Press

  From one of the great creative teams in picture books, On the Other Side of the Garden is about a city girl learning to accept the change brought about by her parents’ separation when she is taken to her grandmother’s house in the country and befriended by an owl, a frog and a mouse. … Continue reading ON THE OTHER SIDE OF THE GARDEN, by Rafael Yockteng, Groundwood Books House of Anansi Press