DOG DRIVEN, By Terry Lynn Johnson, Author of Ice Dogs, Houghton Mifflin Harcourt Books for Young Readers


From the author of Ice Dogs comes a riveting adventure about a musher who sets out to prove her impaired vision won’t hold her back from competing in a rigorous sled race through the Canadian wilderness. Perfect for fans of Gary Paulsen.

McKenna Barney is trying to hide her worsening eyesight and has been isolating herself for the last year. But at the request of her little sister, she signs up for a commemorative mail run race in the Canadian wilderness—a race she doesn’t know if she can even see to run. 

Winning would mean getting her disease—and her sister’s—national media coverage, but it would also pit McKenna and her team of eight sled dogs against racers from across the globe for three days of shifting lake ice, sudden owl attacks, snow squalls, and bitterly cold nights.

 A page-turning adventure about living with disability and surviving the wilderness, Dog Driven is the story of one girl’s self-determination and the courage it takes to trust in others.

Out December 2019

240 Pages

MY THOUGHTS:

I received this book in exchange for my honest review.

Wow. The setting of this story is set in the Canadian wilderness and what a great story it is. McKenna is keeping a secret from everyone, a secret that could take her life. Just in time for winter, this fast-paced, great adventure and challenging journey for the character in the story is chalked-full of mishaps and mayhem to keep those pages turning. Lots of information about mushing, an eye condition called, Stargardt Disease, and a huge love of dogs carries this story through plot twists and turns, plenty of action and friendships old and new.

The character development is perfect, resulting is flawed, struggling, strong-willed protagonist and antagonist, secondary characters and of course, the dogs. The character experience challenges intensified by a secret. Each challenge builds the tension until a huge climax brings it all together in a fulfilling ending and plot resolutions.

I highly recommend this book!

I gave it:

Five golden rating star vector illustration in white background.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.