MURDER ON THE ROCKS: A GRAY WHALE INN MYSTERY, by Karen MacInerney, Midnight Ink

Natalie Barnes buys the Gray Whale Inn, a bed and breakfast in Maine, and publicly opposes Bernard Katz's proposed resort development, which threatens a colony of black-chinned terns, and when Katz is found dead, Natalie must find the true killer in order to clear her own name. approx. 281 pages Out 2008 MY THOUGHTS: I … Continue reading MURDER ON THE ROCKS: A GRAY WHALE INN MYSTERY, by Karen MacInerney, Midnight Ink

Advertisements

ADAGIO OF AWAKENING, by Brett J. Baker, Royal Crown Press

Brett Baker is an independent author and publisher, and is a graduate of the University of Colorado. He is unmarried, and he lives in Denver, CO. For more information about Brett or his books, please visit http://www.brettbaker.ws. Rin and Lexi Halloran were just two ordinary teens growing up in Chicago. Then they were abducted from … Continue reading ADAGIO OF AWAKENING, by Brett J. Baker, Royal Crown Press

ZERO BOMB, by M.T. Hill, Titan Books

From Philip K. Dick Award-nominated author M.T. Hill, The Zero Bomb is a startling science fiction mystery that asks: what do we do when technology replaces our need to work? The near future. Following the death of his daughter Martha, Remi flees the north of England for London. Here he tries to rebuild his life … Continue reading ZERO BOMB, by M.T. Hill, Titan Books

TROUBLE ON THE BOOKS: A CASTLE BOOKSHOP MYSTERY, by Essie Lang, Crooked Lane Books, PGC

Essie Lang’s series debut is perfect for fans of Lorna Barrett, Vicki Delany, and book lovers everywhere. Rookie bookstore owner Shelby Cox must hit the books to learn the ropes before she loses a killer in the stacks. Shelby Cox never intended to become a bookseller, so when the former editor returns to her hometown … Continue reading TROUBLE ON THE BOOKS: A CASTLE BOOKSHOP MYSTERY, by Essie Lang, Crooked Lane Books, PGC

THE NEAR WITCH, #1, by V.E. Schwab, Titan Books

The Near Witch is only an old story told to frighten children. If the wind calls at night, you must not listen. The wind is lonely, and always looking for company. And there are no strangers in the town of Near. These are the truths that Lexi has heard all her life. But when an … Continue reading THE NEAR WITCH, #1, by V.E. Schwab, Titan Books

THE ILIAD, A GRAPHIC NOVEL ADAPTATION, by Gareth Hinds, Candlewick Press

In a companion volume to his award-winning adaptation of The Odyssey, the incomparable graphic novelist Gareth Hinds masterfully adapts Homer's classic wartime epic. More than three thousand years ago, two armies faced each other in an epic battle that rewrote history and came to be known as the Trojan War. The Iliad, Homer's legendary account … Continue reading THE ILIAD, A GRAPHIC NOVEL ADAPTATION, by Gareth Hinds, Candlewick Press

COLD DAY IN THE SUN, by Sara Biren, Amulet Books, Abrams, Hachette Book Group

Holland Delviss wants to be known for her talent as a hockey player, not a hockey player who happens to be a girl. But when her school team is selected to be featured and televised as part of HockeyFest, her status as the only girl on the boys’ team makes her the lead story. Not … Continue reading COLD DAY IN THE SUN, by Sara Biren, Amulet Books, Abrams, Hachette Book Group

DREAMING IN CODE: ADA BYRON LOVELACE, COMPUTER PIONEER, by Emily Arnold McCully, Candlewick Press

This illuminating biography reveals how the daughter of Lord Byron, Britain's most infamous Romantic poet, became the world's first computer programmer. Even by 1800s standards, Ada Byron Lovelace had an unusual upbringing. Her strict mother worked hard at cultivating her own role as the long-suffering ex-wife of bad-boy poet Lord Byron while raising Ada in … Continue reading DREAMING IN CODE: ADA BYRON LOVELACE, COMPUTER PIONEER, by Emily Arnold McCully, Candlewick Press

MASTERS OF SILENCE, by Kathy Kacer, Annick Press

Silence can be powerful. Kathy Kacer's second book in her middle grade series about heroic rescues during WWII tells the tale of siblings Helen and Henry, and history's most famous mime. Desperate to save them from the Nazis, Henry and Helen's mother makes the harrowing decision to take her children from their home in 1940s … Continue reading MASTERS OF SILENCE, by Kathy Kacer, Annick Press

SURVIVING THE CITY by Tasha Spillett, Illustrated by Natasha Donovan, Highwater Press

Tasha Spillett’s graphic novel debut, Surviving the City, is a story about womanhood, friendship, colonialism, and the anguish of a missing loved one. Miikwan and Dez are best friends. Miikwan is Anishinaabe; Dez is Inninew. Together, the teens navigate the challenges of growing up in an urban landscape – they’re so close, they even completed … Continue reading SURVIVING THE CITY by Tasha Spillett, Illustrated by Natasha Donovan, Highwater Press