WHAT MOMMA LEFT ME, by Renee Watson, Bloomsbury

Rediscover Newbery Honor- and Coretta Scott King Author Award-winner Renée Watson's heart-rending debut, about one girl's journey to reconnect to joy. Serenity is good at keeping secrets, and she's got a whole lifetime's worth of them. Her mother is dead, her father is gone, and starting life over at her grandparents' house is strange. Luckily, … Continue reading WHAT MOMMA LEFT ME, by Renee Watson, Bloomsbury

ABOUT PHOENIX, by Nastasia Rugani, Annick Press

  Should you get into the car of someone you barely know? Hard to resist when the driver is Jessup Smith, the most handsome teacher in school. That night, he drives sixteen-year-old Phoenix and her little sister Sasha—both brilliant misfits—home. A few days later, their mother, Erika, lets herself be seduced by Mr. Smith. Not … Continue reading ABOUT PHOENIX, by Nastasia Rugani, Annick Press

7 GENERATIONS: STONE, by David Alexander Robertson and Scott B. Henderson, Highwater Press

  Stone introduces Edwin, a young man who must discover his family’s past if he is to have any future. Edwin learns of his ancestor Stone, a young Plains Cree man, who came of age in the early 19th century. Following a vision quest, Stone aspires to be like his older brother, Bear, a member … Continue reading 7 GENERATIONS: STONE, by David Alexander Robertson and Scott B. Henderson, Highwater Press

THE GHOST ROAD, by Charis Cotter, Tundra/PenguinRandomHouse

Ghosts, a family curse, buried secrets -- and two girls who have to figure it all out. A new book from an acclaimed author, for fans of Coraline, Doll Bones and The Night Gardener. For the first time, Ruth is heading to Newfoundland to stay with family she's never met instead of spending the summer … Continue reading THE GHOST ROAD, by Charis Cotter, Tundra/PenguinRandomHouse

STARLIGHT, by Richard Wagamese, McClelland & Stewart/PenguinRandomHouse

Richard Wagamese was one of Canada's foremost Native authors and storytellers. He worked as a professional writer since 1979. He was a newspaper columnist and reporter, radio and television broadcaster and producer, documentary producer and the author of twelve titles from major Canadian publishers. The final novel from Richard Wagamese, the bestselling and beloved author … Continue reading STARLIGHT, by Richard Wagamese, McClelland & Stewart/PenguinRandomHouse

THE SATURDAY NIGHT GHOST CLUB, by Craig Davidson, Alfred A Knopf Canada/PenguinRandomHouse

When neurosurgeon Jake Breaker operates, he knows he's handling more than a patient's delicate brain tissue--he's altering their seat of consciousness, their golden vault of memory. And memory, Jake knows well, can be a tricky thing. When growing up in 1980s Niagara Falls, a.k.a. Cataract City--a seedy but magical, slightly haunted place--one of Jake's closest … Continue reading THE SATURDAY NIGHT GHOST CLUB, by Craig Davidson, Alfred A Knopf Canada/PenguinRandomHouse

HOTEL FOR THE LOST, by Suzanne Young, Simon Pulse

  From the New York Times bestselling author of The Program comes a haunting, romantic, and suspenseful story about one girl’s search for healing in a grand and mysterious hotel full of secrets. Stay tonight. Stay forever. When Audrey Casella arrives for an unplanned stay at the grand Hotel Ruby, she’s grateful for the detour. … Continue reading HOTEL FOR THE LOST, by Suzanne Young, Simon Pulse

RIVER TO REDEMPTION, by Ann H. Gabhart, Revell/Baker Publishing Group

Orphaned in the cholera epidemic of 1833, Adria Starr was cared for by a slave named Louis, a man who stayed in Springfield, Kentucky, when anyone with means had fled. A man who passed up the opportunity to escape his bondage and instead tended to the sick and buried the dead. A man who, twelve … Continue reading RIVER TO REDEMPTION, by Ann H. Gabhart, Revell/Baker Publishing Group

THE BEST OF INTENTIONS, by Susan Anne Mason, Bethany House Publishing

In the aftermath of tragedy, Grace hopes to reclaim her nephew from the relatives who rejected her sister because of her class. Under an alias, she becomes her nephew's nanny to observe the formidable family up close. Unexpectedly, she begins to fall for the boy's guardian, who is promised to another. Can Grace protect her … Continue reading THE BEST OF INTENTIONS, by Susan Anne Mason, Bethany House Publishing

ON THE OTHER SIDE OF THE GARDEN, by Rafael Yockteng, Groundwood Books House of Anansi Press

  From one of the great creative teams in picture books, On the Other Side of the Garden is about a city girl learning to accept the change brought about by her parents’ separation when she is taken to her grandmother’s house in the country and befriended by an owl, a frog and a mouse. … Continue reading ON THE OTHER SIDE OF THE GARDEN, by Rafael Yockteng, Groundwood Books House of Anansi Press