EISENHOWER VS. WARREN, The Battle For Civil Rights and Liberties, by James F. Simon, LiveRight/W.W. Norton & Company

The bitter feud between President Dwight D. Eisenhower and Chief Justice Earl Warren framed the tumultuous future of the modern civil rights movement. Eisenhower was a gradualist who wanted to coax white Americans in the South into eventually accepting integration, while Warren, author of the Supreme Court’s historic unanimous opinion in Brown v. Board of … Continue reading EISENHOWER VS. WARREN, The Battle For Civil Rights and Liberties, by James F. Simon, LiveRight/W.W. Norton & Company

Books You Should Consider Reading Before You Die (Just a Glimpse)

Ancient & Prehistoric The Penelopaid: The Penelopaid offers a rewriting of the Odyssey, Odysseus, Helen, and life in Hades. Death Comes as the End: Agatha Christie’s novel is set in Thebes in 2000 BC. The Clan of the Cave Bear: The Clan of the Cave Bear is about the interactions between Neanderthals and Cro-Magnons. Centennial: … Continue reading Books You Should Consider Reading Before You Die (Just a Glimpse)

A PLAGUE OF GIANTS, SEVEN KENNINGS, BOOK ONE, by Kevin Hearne, Del Rey/Penguin Random House

  In the start of a compelling new series, the New York Times bestselling author of The Iron Druid Chronicles creates an unforgettable fantasy world of warring giants and elemental magic. In the city of Pelemyn, Fintan the bard takes to the stage to tell what really happened the night the giants came . . … Continue reading A PLAGUE OF GIANTS, SEVEN KENNINGS, BOOK ONE, by Kevin Hearne, Del Rey/Penguin Random House

THE CURSED WIFE, by Pamela Hartshorne, Pan Macmillan

A gripping historical thriller by the author of Time's Echo, Pamela Hartshorne. The Cursed Wife is a page-turning, psychological thriller set in Elizabethan London, by the author of Time's Echo, Pamela Hartshorne. Mary is content with her life as wife to Gabriel Thorne, a wealthy merchant in Elizabethan London. She loves her husband and her … Continue reading THE CURSED WIFE, by Pamela Hartshorne, Pan Macmillan

OSCAR THE GUARDIAN CAT, by Chiara Valentina & Segre Paolo Domeniconi

Inspired by the true story of Oscar, a special cat who watches over the residents of Steere House Nursing and Rehabilitation Center in Providence, Rhode Island. Oscar the Guardian Cat lives at Hope House along with Nurse Dolores, Dr. Goodhelp, and the grandparents of many children who come to visit. The story is told from … Continue reading OSCAR THE GUARDIAN CAT, by Chiara Valentina & Segre Paolo Domeniconi

NORSE MYTHOLOGY, by Neil Gaiman, W.W. Norton & Company

Neil Gaiman, long inspired by ancient mythology in creating the fantastical realms of his fiction, presents a bravura rendition of the Norse gods and their world from their origin though their upheaval in Ragnarok. In Norse Mythology, Gaiman stays true to the myths in envisioning the major Norse pantheon: Odin, the highest of the high, … Continue reading NORSE MYTHOLOGY, by Neil Gaiman, W.W. Norton & Company

THE QUEEN OF BLOODY EVERYTHING, by Joanna Nadin, Pan Macmillan

Dido Sylvia Jones is six years and twenty-seven days old when she moves from London squat to suburban Essex and promptly falls in love with Tom Trevelyan, the boy next door. It's not just Tom that Dido falls for, though: it's also his precocious sister, Harry, and their fastidious, controlling mother, Angela. Because Angela is … Continue reading THE QUEEN OF BLOODY EVERYTHING, by Joanna Nadin, Pan Macmillan

OTHER PEOPLE’S HOUSES, by Abbi Waxman, Berkley/Penguin Books

"Abbi Waxman is both irreverent and thoughtful."--#1 New York Times bestselling author Emily Giffin Named A Highly Anticipated Book for 2018 by InStyle.com, Elite Daily, and Hello Giggles! The author of The Garden of Small Beginnings returns with a hilarious and poignant new novel about four families, their neighborhood carpool, and the affair that changes … Continue reading OTHER PEOPLE’S HOUSES, by Abbi Waxman, Berkley/Penguin Books

THE MISCALCULATIONS OF LIGHTNING GIRL, by Stacy McAnulty/ Random House

Middle school is the one problem Lucy Callahan can't solve in this middle-grade novel perfect for fans of The Fourteenth Goldfish, Rain Reign, and Counting by 7s. Lucy Callahan was struck by lightning. She doesn't remember it, but it changed her life forever. The zap gave her genius-level math skills, and ever since, Lucy has … Continue reading THE MISCALCULATIONS OF LIGHTNING GIRL, by Stacy McAnulty/ Random House