MINOR PROPHETS, by Jimmy Cajoleas, Amulet Books, Abrams, Hachette Book Group, Penguin Random House

After their mother’s death, two siblings must navigate the strange world of the occult in this thrilling YA mystery Lee has always seen visions: cats that his mother promises aren’t really there, a homeless man who he’s convinced is out to get him, and three men who give him ominous warnings in the woods. His … Continue reading MINOR PROPHETS, by Jimmy Cajoleas, Amulet Books, Abrams, Hachette Book Group, Penguin Random House

THE NICKEL BOYS, by Colson Whitehead, Bond Street Books, Doubleday Canada, Penguin Random House Canada

Colson Whitehead brilliantly dramatizes another strand of American history through the story of two boys sentenced to a hellish reform school in Jim Crow-era Florida. As the Civil Rights movement begins to reach the black enclave of Frenchtown in segregated Tallahassee, Elwood Curtis takes the words of Dr. Martin Luther King to heart: He is … Continue reading THE NICKEL BOYS, by Colson Whitehead, Bond Street Books, Doubleday Canada, Penguin Random House Canada

BORDER SON, by Samuel Parker, Fleming H. Revel Com., Baker Publishing Group

It's been years since Edward Kazmierski has seen his wayward son. In fact, it's been years since he has allowed thoughts of Tyler to even enter his mind. The last place he knew Tyler to be was in an El Paso jail six years ago. Then, in one day, he receives a cryptic phone call … Continue reading BORDER SON, by Samuel Parker, Fleming H. Revel Com., Baker Publishing Group

ZERO BOMB, by M.T. Hill, Titan Books

From Philip K. Dick Award-nominated author M.T. Hill, The Zero Bomb is a startling science fiction mystery that asks: what do we do when technology replaces our need to work? The near future. Following the death of his daughter Martha, Remi flees the north of England for London. Here he tries to rebuild his life … Continue reading ZERO BOMB, by M.T. Hill, Titan Books

THE HIDDEN PLACE, by C.J. Tudor, Doubleday Canada, Crown Publishing, Penguin Random House, MUST BUY

Joe never wanted to come back to Arnhill. After the way things ended with his old gang--the betrayal, the suicide, the murder--and after what happened when his sister went missing, the last thing he wanted to do was return to his hometown. But Joe doesn't have a choice. Because judging by what was done to … Continue reading THE HIDDEN PLACE, by C.J. Tudor, Doubleday Canada, Crown Publishing, Penguin Random House, MUST BUY

AFTER THE ECLIPSE, by Fran Dorricott, Titan Books

A stunning psychological thriller about loss, sisterhood, and the evil that men do, for readers of Ruth Ware and S.K. Tremeyne Two solar eclipses. Two missing girls. Sixteen years ago a little girl was abducted during the darkness of a solar eclipse while her older sister Cassie was supposed to be watching her. She was … Continue reading AFTER THE ECLIPSE, by Fran Dorricott, Titan Books

THE WATER CURE: A NOVEL, by Sophie MacKintosh, Double Day/Hamish Hamilton/Penguin Canada

The Handmaid’s Tale meets The Virgin Suicides in this dystopic feminist revenge fantasy about three sisters on an isolated island, raised to fear men King has tenderly staked out a territory for his wife and three daughters, Grace, Lia, and Sky. He has lain the barbed wire; he has anchored the buoys in the water; … Continue reading THE WATER CURE: A NOVEL, by Sophie MacKintosh, Double Day/Hamish Hamilton/Penguin Canada

THE TEMP, by Michelle Frances, Pan Macmillan

You have a successful career, a loving husband and a baby on the way . . . no-one can replace you, can they? Carrie is a successful TV producer with the perfect husband and the perfect life. But when she falls pregnant, everything threatens to fall apart. Emma, the temp, is everything she could wish … Continue reading THE TEMP, by Michelle Frances, Pan Macmillan

HALLOWDENE, THE TRUTH WILL COME OUT, by George Mann, Titan Books

  Book Two: Former London journalist Elspeth Reeves is trying to carve a new life for herself in the sleepy Oxfordshire countryside until she's sent to cover the excavation of a notorious local witch's grave. Three hundred years ago, her name mixed up with murder and black magic, Agnes Levett was hanged and then buried … Continue reading HALLOWDENE, THE TRUTH WILL COME OUT, by George Mann, Titan Books

DAMNATION ISLAND, POOR, SICK, MAD, & CRIMINAL IN THE 19TH-CENTURY NEW YORK, by Stacy Horn, Algonquin Books

DESCRIPTION: Today it is known as Roosevelt Island. In 1828, when New York City purchased this narrow, two-mile-long island in the East River, it was called Blackwell’s Island. There, over the next hundred years, the city would send its insane, indigent, sick, and criminal. Told through the gripping voices of Blackwell’s inhabitants, as well as … Continue reading DAMNATION ISLAND, POOR, SICK, MAD, & CRIMINAL IN THE 19TH-CENTURY NEW YORK, by Stacy Horn, Algonquin Books