AFTER THE ECLIPSE, by Fran Dorricott, Titan Books

A stunning psychological thriller about loss, sisterhood, and the evil that men do, for readers of Ruth Ware and S.K. Tremeyne Two solar eclipses. Two missing girls. Sixteen years ago a little girl was abducted during the darkness of a solar eclipse while her older sister Cassie was supposed to be watching her. She was … Continue reading AFTER THE ECLIPSE, by Fran Dorricott, Titan Books

THE WATER CURE: A NOVEL, by Sophie MacKintosh, Double Day/Hamish Hamilton/Penguin Canada

The Handmaid’s Tale meets The Virgin Suicides in this dystopic feminist revenge fantasy about three sisters on an isolated island, raised to fear men King has tenderly staked out a territory for his wife and three daughters, Grace, Lia, and Sky. He has lain the barbed wire; he has anchored the buoys in the water; … Continue reading THE WATER CURE: A NOVEL, by Sophie MacKintosh, Double Day/Hamish Hamilton/Penguin Canada

AND I’D DO IT AGAIN: THE EXTRAORDINARY ADVENTURES OF AN EDWARDIAN HEIRESS, by Aimee Crocker, Forward by Helen Lederer, Head of Zeus

Aimée Crocker was an heiress to gold and railroad fortunes and a daughter of Judge Edwin B. Crocker (1818-1875), legal counsel for the Central Pacific Railroad, Justice of the California Supreme Court in 1865 and founder of the Crocker Art Museum. Her father was a brother of Charles Crocker, one of the "big four" California … Continue reading AND I’D DO IT AGAIN: THE EXTRAORDINARY ADVENTURES OF AN EDWARDIAN HEIRESS, by Aimee Crocker, Forward by Helen Lederer, Head of Zeus

DAMNATION ISLAND, POOR, SICK, MAD, & CRIMINAL IN THE 19TH-CENTURY NEW YORK, by Stacy Horn, Algonquin Books

DESCRIPTION: Today it is known as Roosevelt Island. In 1828, when New York City purchased this narrow, two-mile-long island in the East River, it was called Blackwell’s Island. There, over the next hundred years, the city would send its insane, indigent, sick, and criminal. Told through the gripping voices of Blackwell’s inhabitants, as well as … Continue reading DAMNATION ISLAND, POOR, SICK, MAD, & CRIMINAL IN THE 19TH-CENTURY NEW YORK, by Stacy Horn, Algonquin Books

THE KING’S WITCH, Frances Gorges Trilogy, Book One, by Tracy Borman, Atlantic Monthly Press

In March of 1603, as she helps to nurse the dying Queen Elizabeth of England, Frances Gorges dreams of her parents’ country estate, where she has learned to use flowers and herbs to become a much-loved healer. She is happy to stay at home when King James of Scotland succeeds to the throne. His court … Continue reading THE KING’S WITCH, Frances Gorges Trilogy, Book One, by Tracy Borman, Atlantic Monthly Press

THE BELOVEDS, by Maureen Lindley, Gallery Books/Simon Schuster

An exploration of domestic derangement, as sinister as Daphne Du Maurier’s classic Rebecca, that plumbs the depths of sibling rivalry with wit and menace. Oh, to be a Beloved—one of those lucky people for whom nothing ever goes wrong. Everything falls into their laps without effort: happiness, beauty, good fortune, allure. Betty Stash is not … Continue reading THE BELOVEDS, by Maureen Lindley, Gallery Books/Simon Schuster