A BOY AND HIS DOG AT THE END OF THE WORLD, by C.A. Fletcher, Orbit, Hachette Book Publishers

When a beloved family dog is stolen, her owner sets out on a life-changing journey through the ruins of our world to bring her back in this fiercely compelling tale of survival, courage, and hope. Perfect for readers of Station Eleven and The Girl With All the Gifts. My name's Griz. My childhood wasn't like … Continue reading A BOY AND HIS DOG AT THE END OF THE WORLD, by C.A. Fletcher, Orbit, Hachette Book Publishers

Advertisements

THE MIGRATION, by Helen Marshall, Random House Canada

Creepy and atmospheric, evocative of Stephen King's classic Pet Sematary , The Migration is a story of sisterhood, transformation, and the limitations of love, from a thrilling new voice in Canadian fiction. When I was younger I didn't know a thing about death. I thought it meant stillness, a body gone limp. A marionette with … Continue reading THE MIGRATION, by Helen Marshall, Random House Canada

AN OCEAN OF MINUTES, by Thea Lim, Viking

“Amidst the breathtaking world Thea Lim has created in AN OCEAN OF MINUTES is a profound meditation on the inhumanity of class and the limits of love. It takes immense talent to render cruelty both accurately and with honest beauty – Lim has pulled it off. This is a story about the malleability of time, … Continue reading AN OCEAN OF MINUTES, by Thea Lim, Viking

84K, by Claire North, Orbit Books, Hachette Book Group

What if your life were defined by a number? What if any crime could be committed without punishment, so long as you could afford to pay the fee assigned to that crime? Theo works in the Criminal Audit Office. He assesses each crime that crosses his desk and makes sure the correct debt to society … Continue reading 84K, by Claire North, Orbit Books, Hachette Book Group

PULSEPOINT, by Colleen Nelson & Nancy Chappell-Pollack, Yellow Dog/Great Plains Publishing

Best for ages 12-15 years, AND Adults 🙂 CBC Books names Pulse Point is a Top Ten book to watch for this spring! In Kaia’s world, setting foot Outside can be deadly. The safety of the City has kept humans alive as climate change destroys the world. But the City has found a way to … Continue reading PULSEPOINT, by Colleen Nelson & Nancy Chappell-Pollack, Yellow Dog/Great Plains Publishing

BREEDER: ARROW FLIGHT #1, by Casey Hays, Self-Published

OVERVIEW: Nestled within the folds of a war-torn and ruined world, there lies a village. It has no name; it is full of secrets. Its women survive because they seem to have found a remedy for war; its men survive because the women let them. They all survive because Fate allows it. Kate never thought … Continue reading BREEDER: ARROW FLIGHT #1, by Casey Hays, Self-Published

BLUE WINDOW, by Adina Rishe Gewirtz, Candlewick Press

Five siblings fall through time and space into a strange, unkind world -- their arrival mysteriously foretold -- and land in the center of an epic civil struggle in a country where many citizens have given themselves over to their primal fears and animal passions at the urging of a power-hungry demagogue. When siblings Susan, … Continue reading BLUE WINDOW, by Adina Rishe Gewirtz, Candlewick Press

WONDERBLOOD, by Julia Whicker, Random House Canada

Set 500 years in the future, a mad cow-like disease called "Bent Head" has killed off most of the U.S. population. Those remaining turn to magic and sacrifice to cleanse the Earth. Wonderblood is Julia Whicker's fascinating literary debut, set in a barren United States, an apocalyptic wasteland where warring factions compete for control of … Continue reading WONDERBLOOD, by Julia Whicker, Random House Canada

MUNMUN, by Jesse Andrews, Amulet Books/Abrams Books, Hachette Book Group

In an alternate reality a lot like our world, every person’s physical size is directly proportional to their wealth. The poorest of the poor are the size of rats, and billionaires are the size of skyscrapers. Warner and his sister Prayer are destitute—and tiny. Their size is not just demeaning, but dangerous: day and night … Continue reading MUNMUN, by Jesse Andrews, Amulet Books/Abrams Books, Hachette Book Group

RED CLOCKS, by Leni Zumas, Little, Brown & Company

In this ferociously imaginative novel, abortion is once again illegal in America, in-vitro fertilization is banned, and the Personhood Amendment grants rights of life, liberty, and property to every embryo. In a small Oregon fishing town, five very different women navigate these new barriers alongside age-old questions surrounding motherhood, identity, and freedom. Ro, a single … Continue reading RED CLOCKS, by Leni Zumas, Little, Brown & Company