THE MOSQUITO, A HUMAN HISTORY OF OUR DEADLIEST PREDATOR, by Timothy C. Winegard, Allen Lane, Penguin Canada

A pioneering and ground-breaking work of narrative nonfiction that offers a dramatic new perspective on the history of humankind, showing how through millennia, the mosquito has been the single most powerful force in determining humanity's fate Why was gin and tonic the cocktail of choice for British colonists in India and Africa? What does Starbucks … Continue reading THE MOSQUITO, A HUMAN HISTORY OF OUR DEADLIEST PREDATOR, by Timothy C. Winegard, Allen Lane, Penguin Canada

THE MIGRATION, by Helen Marshall, Random House Canada

Creepy and atmospheric, evocative of Stephen King's classic Pet Sematary , The Migration is a story of sisterhood, transformation, and the limitations of love, from a thrilling new voice in Canadian fiction. When I was younger I didn't know a thing about death. I thought it meant stillness, a body gone limp. A marionette with … Continue reading THE MIGRATION, by Helen Marshall, Random House Canada

WE ALL FALL DOWN, by Daniel Kalla, Simon & Schuster

Not since Pandemic have we seen a thriller like this from bestselling author Daniel Kalla: The plague has hit Italy. Can Dr. Alana Vaughn find the source in time to save the world? No person is left unscathed, no family untouched. Death grows insatiable. Alana Vaughn, an infectious diseases expert with NATO, is urgently summoned … Continue reading WE ALL FALL DOWN, by Daniel Kalla, Simon & Schuster

THE WOLF AND THE WATCHMAN, by Niklas Natt Och Dag, Atria Books, Simon and Schuster

In this breathtakingly bold, intricately constructed novel set in 18th century Stockholm, a dying man searches among the city’s teeming streets, dark corners, and intriguing inhabitants to unmask a ruthless murderer—perfect for fans of Perfume and The Alienist. It is 1793. Four years after the storming of the Bastille in France and more than a … Continue reading THE WOLF AND THE WATCHMAN, by Niklas Natt Och Dag, Atria Books, Simon and Schuster