LITTLE PIERROT, V.I, by Alberto Veranda, Diamond Book Distributors, Lion Forge, Children’s Fiction , Comics & Graphic Novels

cover118838-medium

Available Now For Purchase!

Thanks to Netgalley and Lion Forge for a copy of this book to read and provide my honest review.

Description
Little Pierrot is a young boy with a very large imagination and his head forever in the stars. Joined by his snail buddy, the aptly named Mr. Snail, he sets off to explore the boundaries of space in a series of magical and surreal adventures: first to reach the Moon, and then the Stars… Classic comics storytelling for young readers in the vein of Calvin & Hobbes.
Available Editions
EDITION Hardcover
ISBN 9781941302590
PRICE $14.99 (USD)

MY BOOK REVIEW:

The illustrations in this book deserve a 5 out of 5 stars, or even some kind of award. They are probably one of the best I’ve come across lately out there. Endearing, sweet, and expressive. You can’t help but fall for the relationship between a boy and his snail because of the drawings.

With that being said… I did not like the writing. Forgive me, but a lot didn’t make sense to me and I felt a lot of the words used might be more directed to adults than to children. The humor was dry and confusing at times. It’s unfortunate too because of how wonderful the illustrations are.  Mind you, every now and then, one of the snippets of humor did shine through.  When that happened, the illustrations and words connected and seemed to work, although, still not age appropriate.

If you are more interested in illustrations, then this book is for you. If you are looking for the whole package, then I’m afraid this book failed to deliver, or at least, it did for me.

I give this book:

825857.nbc-transparent-apple-2014For the Illustrations only.

5_Star_Rating_System_2_and_a_half_stars_T For the story.

 

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s