EARTHLINGS: A NOVEL, by Sayaka Murata, Grove Press/Publishers Group West

Ewww! Natsuki isn't like the other girls. She has a wand and a transformation mirror. She might be a witch, or an alien from another planet. Together with her cousin Yuu, Natsuki spends her summers in the wild mountains of Nagano, dreaming of other worlds. When a terrible sequence of events threatens to part the … Continue reading EARTHLINGS: A NOVEL, by Sayaka Murata, Grove Press/Publishers Group West

DOGCHILD, by Kevin Brooks, Candlewick Press

A boy raised by wild dogs fights for survival in this gripping post apocalyptic tale by an acclaimed Carnegie Medalist.Jeet is a dogchild, raised by the wild dogs who killed his parents, then recaptured and “rehumanized.” He now lives with one of only two remaining human communities in the world, besieged by the much larger … Continue reading DOGCHILD, by Kevin Brooks, Candlewick Press

THE NICKEL BOYS, by Colson Whitehead, Bond Street Books, Doubleday Canada, Penguin Random House Canada

Colson Whitehead brilliantly dramatizes another strand of American history through the story of two boys sentenced to a hellish reform school in Jim Crow-era Florida. As the Civil Rights movement begins to reach the black enclave of Frenchtown in segregated Tallahassee, Elwood Curtis takes the words of Dr. Martin Luther King to heart: He is … Continue reading THE NICKEL BOYS, by Colson Whitehead, Bond Street Books, Doubleday Canada, Penguin Random House Canada

GIRLS OF PAPER AND FIRE, by Natasha Ngan, Hachette Book Group

Each year, eight beautiful girls are chosen as Paper Girls to serve the king. It's the highest honor they could hope for...and the most cruel. But this year, there's a ninth girl. And instead of paper, she's made of fire. In this lush fantasy, Lei is a member of the Paper caste, the lowest and … Continue reading GIRLS OF PAPER AND FIRE, by Natasha Ngan, Hachette Book Group

THE ROANOKE GIRLS, by Amy Engel, Crown Publishing

A gripping, provocative thriller about the twisted secrets families keep, perfect for fans of The Girls. Beautiful. Rich. Mysterious. Everyone wants to be a Roanoke girl. But you won't when you know the truth. Lane Roanoke is fifteen when she comes to live with her grandparents and fireball cousin at the Roanoke family's rural estate … Continue reading THE ROANOKE GIRLS, by Amy Engel, Crown Publishing