ON SNOWDEN MOUNTAIN, by Jeri Watts, Candlewick Press

Twelve-year-old Ellen learns the quiet strength of family when her mother's deep depression prompts her to ask an estranged aunt for help. Ellen's mother has struggled with depression before, but not like this. With her father away fighting in World War II and her mother unable to care for them, Ellen's only option is to … Continue reading ON SNOWDEN MOUNTAIN, by Jeri Watts, Candlewick Press

SMACK DAB IN THE MIDDLE OF MAYBE, by Jo Watson Hackl, Random House

A Mississippi ghost town and an art mystery combine in this gorgeously written debut just right for fans of Three Times Lucky and A Snicker of Magic! How far would you go to find something that might not even exist? All her life, Cricket's mama has told her stories about a secret room painted by … Continue reading SMACK DAB IN THE MIDDLE OF MAYBE, by Jo Watson Hackl, Random House